Skip to content

Will Work For Food

October 23, 2010

Sorry I have been MIA over the last 24 hours! Lot’s of homecoming/ sorority stuff came up and I was unable to get a post up. I would love to say that I ate fantastic last night, but no. 😦 I did get my 2.5 run in yesterday afternoon which was nice. 🙂

However, today is a new day with a new challenge- 5 miles!!! 🙂

I rolled out of bed at 8am and had my pre-run meal- half a banana on ezekiel bread.

After eating, I made my way over to the other side of town for my run. I had found a USATF approved 5 mile loop in one of the nicer neighborhoods of the city. The drive to my destination was CRAZY! I hate Saturday morning traffic!!! I made it over to the park at around 9am ready to RUN!!!

I am proud to say that I made it through my run without stopping! 🙂 My mile splits were a little off and I am not completely satisfied with the run. After the one mile mark, my phone froze and restarted itself. So I spent around 2 minutes during my second mile trying to get my music to play again, my running tracker back, and my stopwatch up. Needless to say, I lost about 1:30 on my split. 😦 Here are my splits for the run:

Mile 1- 08:19.27
Mile 2- 09:39.80 (17:59.08) *This split was due to my tech glitch 😦
Mile 3- 08:44.48 (25:43.57)
Mile 4- 08:49.44 (35:33.01)
Mile 5- 08:53.93 (44:26.95)
.11 mile- 00:58.03
Total- 45:24.98

The time is ok. My goal for today was to try and keep my splits as even as possible which I pretty much achieved except for mile two. However, this is around the time I would want for a 10K. I believe my 6 miles next week will be a little better because I am going to familiarize myself with the course a little better (I got a little lost) and I am going to shut down any non- essential apps on my phone. Until I get a good running watch, I have to use my phone as my GPS/ stopwatch.

The neighborhood was BEAUTIFUL. The loop I did took me over a bridge, by some churches, and around some cute houses. My only complaint about the course is the lack of sidewalks. I was constantly having to switch sides of the road to get on a sidewalk but most of the time I was running in tall grass. Needless to say I got a little dirty.

(Yes I know my socks are mismatched!)

My favorite part of the course was seeing the city skyline from the drawbridge.

After my run, I wasn’t STARVING but I was pretty hungry. I was very excited to make a yummy yogurt dish, but when I was trying to open the pumpkin, my can opener snapped! So I did what any good college student would have done, I found a knife and started stabbing the top of the can. Drastic times call for drastic measures!

Well, at least it worked, kind of. 😉

For breakfast I had a container of Greek yogurt mixed with 1/4 cup raw oatmeal, 1/4 cup pumpkin, and some cinnamon and Truvia to taste.

The perfect breakfast for an (almost) perfect run. 🙂

I’m off to the store to get some groceries! Have a wonderful Saturday everyone! 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2010 1:57 pm

    hey girl! thanks for the sweet comment 🙂
    I’m pretty sure I’ve made that EXACT yogurt dish before! Sooo yummy. Good job on your run!!

    • October 23, 2010 11:35 pm

      Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting!!! 🙂

  2. Mary Sputo permalink
    October 23, 2010 7:41 pm

    Looks like you had a beautiful background for your run today. Love the pictures and it appears you are on track towards your running goals 🙂 I probably would have done the same thing getting that can opened -lol. You sure must have been hungry to go to such measures! Although I am glad you eventually got a new can opener!!! Keep up the great work sweetie… and post a variety of pics. Would like to see some more pics of Maci… I miss her. How about a quote for the day also. Love ya girl! (((HUGS)))! Mom :-* Oh an here is one for being a chef…. C=:-)

Leave a Reply

