Skip to content

Eater’s remorse

October 27, 2010

I have a confession… I feel like I ate ALL day. I ate things I normally would not have. I had my standard breakfast, lunch and dinner (I’ll post it below), but I feel like I ate EVERYTHING in sight. It all started with a spoonful of peanut butter- not bad, but that led to a scoop of protein powder (I like to eat it alone- is that weird?), and then a Snicker’s Marathon Bar (which was in my swag bag from my race a few weeks ago). I had other random things throughout the day too. By the time dinner came around, I couldn’t even finish it.

I know it looks like I basically threw a bunch of veggies on a plate with some egg whites, and that’s what I did. I ate about 2/3 of it and gave up. Granted I had about 3 glasses of water before hand, but still.

This day of “binging” made me feel gross, and to be honest, I feel a little bad. I know tomorrow is a new day and I will do better. I think that I am afraid that I look like I am gaining weight. I worked so hard to lose the 15 lbs that I did and I don’t want it to come back. I’m introducing foods back into my diet to supplement my increase in mileage, but this all has me a little freaked out.

I’ll admit it, when I look in the mirror, I still see the girl I used to be. We all have ups and downs and this is just another step in the process of “growing up.” I can safely say that my self- image overall has gone up since I began running, and this is probably just “one of those days.”

Tomorrow will be better! I will not allow negative thoughts enter my head. 🙂

In other news, I ran 4 miles today! 🙂 Even though it was pretty hot out (what happened to the lovely fall weather we were having?… the 90’s are NOT fall!) My splits were a bit un-even, but as I was running, I realized that I do have endurance, but I need some speed. Tomorrow I am going to try and do some pick-ups or track work to get some speedwork going. 🙂

My splits for today:

Mile 1: 7:48
Mile 2: 8:19  (16:07)
Mile 3: 8:22 (24:30)
Mile 4: 8:32 (33:02)

Another thing I’ve noticed is that my first mile is always in the mid 7:00 range. I feel like if I can get it down into the lower eights (around 8:15), it will make my other splits more even. I know that pace wise, I feel most comfortable running between a 8:15-8:30 mile. I feel loose and strong- my stride is long and I breathe easy. I’m going to try and focus on this during my 6 mile run on Saturday. Any thoughts?

I apologize for such a scattered post! Tomorrow will be much better!

Thank you all for your support and encouragement! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

