Skip to content

6.14 Miles DOWN! :)

October 30, 2010

“The will to persevere is often the difference between failure and success.” -David Sarnoff

Good afternoon everyone! It’s a beautiful day here in North Florida (and it’s also the famous Florida/ Georgia Football Game Weekend aka- The World’s Largest Cocktail Party).

I woke up at 7:15 this morning, ready to tackle 6 miles! πŸ™‚

I had my pre-run fuel:

I went to the same area I ran last week. This time I studied the course a lot better. I even wrote directions down.

But, I STILL got lost! 😦 No worries though, it didn’t affect my distance too much. πŸ™‚

Overall, I am pretty happy with the run. I lagged in energy in the middle of my run, but got an amazing burst of energy towards the end. My splits:

Mile 1: 7:55.93
Mile 2: 8:07.85 (16:03.78)
Mile 3: 8:50.91 (24:54.69)
Mile 4: 9:12.73 (34:07.42)- Got a little lost/ tired
Mile 5: 8:25.89 (42:33.32)- Got my energy back
Mile 6: 8:29.67 (51:03.00)
.14 Mile: 1:06.69 (52:09.69)
Total Time: 52:09.69
Average Mile: 8:30

After my run, I headed over to the running store to pick up my race number and t-shirt for my 5k tomorrow. Yes you read that right, I’m doing a 5k tomorrow after running 6 miles today. I honestly don’t think it will be too difficult, I may not PR, but I’m excited to do another race. πŸ™‚ I also picked up a new pair of running shorts. πŸ™‚

I hit some BAD BAD BAD game day traffic on the way back, but I FINALLY made it back to my apartment and made a delicious breakfast (recipe below).

Pumpkin Spice Parfait:

Ingredients:

1/4 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup pumpkin
1 container of plain or vanilla Greek yogurt
1/2 banana
Stevia and Cinnamon to taste

1) Fill bottom of glass or bowl with half the oats.
2) Then layer yogurt, pumpkin, and banana slices.
3) Repeat steps 1 and 2.
4) Top with any remaining oats and sprinkle with cinnamon.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Saturday full of football (if you watch it!) and fun!
3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2010 1:43 pm

    Congrats on your run! I got lost once on my longest run of marathon training and it made me run a half mile more! That parfait is so pretty!! I want to make one!
    Good luck on your 5k tomorrow, you’ll own it!!!

  2. Mary Sputo permalink
    October 30, 2010 4:47 pm

    YUMMY!! I agree this pumpkin spice parfait sounds goooooooooood. One day perhaps I will try it. Make sure you relax tonight for your run and good luck tomorrow. Enjoying the game so far. GO GATORS!!

Leave a Reply

