Skip to content

Happy November!

November 1, 2010

“There is only one success- to be able to spend your life in your own way.”- Christopher Morley

Happy November everyone! Now that Halloween is over I can start to think about Thanksgiving, which is one of my FAVORITE holidays! I apologize for not posting last night. I had to go to a music event at 7:30 and when I got back at 9, I made dinner and went to sleep!

After my race yesterday, I didn’t feel too great throughout the rest of the day. I had a modest lunch of veggies and fruit- I think my body wanted water!

After the music event (which was a live adaptation of The War of the Worlds broadcast! So cool!), I made a Lemon Garlic Shrimp Salad (recipe below) with some broccoli:

Lemon Garlic Salad (1 serving)

Ingredients:
For the sauce:
4 T lemon juice
2 cloves garlic- diced
A palmful of rosemary
Pepper to taste
6-8 fresh shrimp
3 cups spinach
Directions:
1) Mix together lemon juice, garlic, rosemary, and pepper. Set aside.
2) Rise shrimp and take shells off (if not done already).
3) Add shrimp to the sauce.
4) Place shrimp and sauce into a frying pan and cook over medium heat until shrimp turns pink.
5) Add on top of salad.

 

After a good 8 hours of sleep, I felt ready to tackle today! I had a great breakfast of egg whites with salsa with Greek yogurt topped with 1/4 cup frozen blueberries, oatmeal, and cinnamon.

Lunch today was very delicious and filling! I found some whole wheat wraps in my fridge and improvised. ๐Ÿ™‚

Tuna, Cheese, and Spinach Wrap

Ingredients:
1 Whole Wheat Wrap of your choice
1-2 cups spinach
1 Laughing Cow Cheese wedge (or cheese of your choosing)
1/2 can tuna
1/4 cup red pepper
Pepper
Directions:
1) Spread cheese across the wrap.
2) Sprinkle half of the spinach and the red pepper on the wrap.
3) Add tuna in the center (add pepper to taste)
4) Top with remaining spinach.
5) Roll up and enjoy!



I’m off to my remaining classes for the day and then the gym. I have my first night rehearsal for the show I’m in, so I may not be able to post till late tonight. Have a fun filled day! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 3:54 pm

    Hi Katy,
    I discovered your blog when you mentioned SunButter last week, but I’ve kept following because of your easy-to-read posts (and I had to see how you did in the race: Way to run!). As a SunButter blogger, I wanted you to know that if you’re so inclined, we have an online recipe box full of SunButter ideas. It’s here: http://bit.ly/9Pm79a If you try a recipe, I’d love to hear how it turns out. As a fellow runner, I’m looking forward to your posts!

    • November 1, 2010 10:54 pm

      Thank you so much for stopping by and reading my blog! ๐Ÿ™‚ It means a lot to me that you have taken the time to read my posts!

      I’ll definitely check out the recipes on the website! I love to bake/ cook so maybe you’ll see one of your recipes on here soon. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (with full credit to Sunbutter of course!)

  2. November 2, 2010 5:37 pm

    Wonderful, Katy. Can’t wait to see what else you create with SunButter. (Personally, my fav is by the spoonful, but it’s great in recipes as well.) Take care.

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas Traditions « The Singing Runner

Leave a Reply

