Skip to content

Let’s catch up!

November 6, 2010

“In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.”- Bill Cosby

Wow! So much has happened in the last 24 hours! I apologize for not posting! I’m going to break up the past 24 hours into two different posts. This post will be about the remainder of yesterday (since my last post at lunch) and then this morning/afternoon. The next post will be about my run and dinner. I’m hoping to get a third post up tonight too about a topic not related to food and running (well, a little bit about running!).

Off we go! Yesterday afternoon I was supposed to go on a 3.5 mile run… well, that run got cut short. I’m not the type of person to quit something or just give a half hearted effort so I wasn’t pleased about cutting it short. The CRAZY wind gusts, COLD wind chill, and my legs felt like bricks made me decide to throw the towel in early. I ran 2.5 miles in I believe 21 minutes (I don’t have my splits sheet in front of me at the moment). I just knew that it wasn’t worth my time to keep going when I was REALLY miserable.

Last night I had rehearsal until 10:30ish so I came back to my apartment and ate a small dinner:

I went to bed shortly after because I was going to get up EARLY to run.

Flash forward to this morning. My alarms (yes alarms) went off at 6:30 and I checked the weather.

34 degrees with the wind chill? Hmmmm this left me with a decision. Normally I probably would have gone out and done the run, but I have a show opening in less than a week. Is it worth risking getting sick? I decided to go back to sleep for a few hours and go for the run later.

I woke up and decided to have a nice parfait. 🙂

It was filled with oats, blueberries, strawberries, Greek yogurt, and topped with some Wheaties Fuel cereal from a race swag bag.

I then had to attend a master class on vocal health from 10-3:15 which was informative, but the entire time I want to go out and RUN! 🙂

We had a lunch break so I made myself a light lunch because I didn’t want to fill my stomach up with too much food before the run. I’ve realized that I have a pretty sensitive stomach when it comes to my LONG runs. 😦

Just a basic spinach salad with 2 egg whites, honeycrisp apple, and carrot sticks. I also had a handful of almonds as I was prepping. 🙂

After the master class I headed off for my run… but I’ll have to keep you hanging on that for a few hours. 🙂 I’m off to a music recital.

Have a great evening everyone! 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Sputo permalink
    November 6, 2010 9:13 pm

    Wow – all your activity is making me tired -lol. I have to hand it to you, when you set your mind for setting a goal – you stick with it. Cudos to you Katy! Looking forward to your next post. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

