Skip to content

Ain’t No Mountain High Enough!

November 7, 2010

Or bridge! There are only three places in Florida where you can run hills or inclines. Clermont, Gainesville (there is a hill on the NW side of town by the I-75 exit ramp), and the bridges in downtown Jacksonville. I am proud to say that not only did I complete 8 miles yesterday, but I also ran the bridges! πŸ™‚

I can’t say it was an easy run- it was probably the most difficult one I’ve done thus far, but it was the most fun. I love running in new places because it keeps me entertained and excited about what’s around the corner.

I started this run at Memorial Park and ran along the river for a good portion of the run. I also ran through the Jacksonville Landing and yes, even the bridges! The first mile and a half was pretty easy but then I saw this:

Now that’s an incline! It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I lengthened my stride and made it up at a pretty good pace. And what goes up, must come down- well coming down was a bit of a challenge. It was a circular exit ramp that made at least 7 (tight!) turns. While I was going down the ramp, my GPS on my phone lost signal so it didn’t calculate the mileage for this.

After a quick restroom break (I’ve been drinking a lot more water recently!) I was back on track. I ran through the landing and the buildings of downtown.

Then I ran into my biggest obstacle of the day, the Main Street Bridge (the blue bridge in the first picture). I have always wanted to run it and I decided that today was going to be the day! So, I got all of my strength from within and made the trek up the bridge. I kept telling myself, “what goes up, must go down,” and honestly, the bridge wasn’t too bad. It didn’t kill me too much time wise and was a great challenge for myself.

About a half mile after the bridge I hit the 4 mile mark and I turned around to loop back to the park. That’s when it hit me: I was going to have to not only do the bridge AGAIN but I would have to run up the exit ramp that I had done earlier! I decided to break into my fuel (some gummy bears) and tackle the inclines again. The gummy bears helped a little bit- I got some energy back, but I realized that I suck at chewing and running. Maybe it was because of the cold weather, or maybe it was because I was a little tired, but I COULD NOT CHEW! Haha! πŸ™‚ I’m sure people who were walking past me thought I was CRAZY! Here I am attempting to chew on a simple gummy bear, but looking like I am a giraffe or something with how big my mouth is opening. I wish I could describe this to you better because I felt like an idiot! Note to self- try something else as fuel for the next run.

Despite the cold, the wind, the bridges, and the gummy bear disaster, it was a fun 8 mile run! I finished it in under 1 hour and 10 minutes (my goal was to finish it in under 1 hour and 15 minutes).

This is my, “woah, I just finished 8 miles” face! πŸ™‚

Splits:

Mile 1: 7:57
Mile 2: 8:34 (16:31)- going up the incline
Mile 3: 8:18 (24:49)
Mile 4: 8:16 (33:05)
Mile 5: 8:44 (41:49)
Mile 6: 9:06 (50:55)- second time going over the bridge!
Mile 7: 8:42 (59:37)
Mile 8: 8:31 (1:08:08)
TOTAL: 1:08:08

After my run, I wasn’t too hungry, but BOY was I thirsty. I drank at least 2 and a half bottles of water!

I then attended a music concert and then went grocery shopping. Just a tip, if you have nothing to do on a Saturday evening at around 9pm, go to Publix (or your grocery store). NO ONE Β is there and it really makes your shopping experience a lot better! πŸ™‚

I was in the mood for pizza so I made a thin crust pizza on a whole wheat wrap. I topped it with tomato sauce, cheese, MorningStar chicken (the fake chicken), and veggies! I paired it with a nice salad. πŸ™‚ It was delicious!

And, I decided to have dessert to reward myself for a good run.

I heated up some strawberries and blueberries and topped it with the ice cream and some fat free whipped cream. Yum! πŸ™‚

All in all, it was a great day with a great run!

*I apologize for not getting this up last night. I fell asleep shortly after dinner. I guess I went into a food coma! Haha!*

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Sputo permalink
    November 7, 2010 12:18 pm

    Love the pics you took along your run. It must have been interesting running over the bridge to Jacksonville’s Landings. Happy it turned out well for you. Your gummy bear chewing attempt must have been hilarious to see from the perspective of a bystander. Maybe you have to buy super soft ones -haha. And after your long day, you deserved that Skinny Cow treat. Hope today goes well – make use of that extra hour! Love ya! =)

  2. November 8, 2010 5:06 pm

    You are one speedy girl! I made those muffins from Anne’s site as the loaf.

    • November 8, 2010 6:01 pm

      I want to make it as a loaf for Thanksgiving breakfast. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by! I love your blog! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

