Skip to content

Wal-Mart Headache

November 13, 2010

 

Dear Wal-Mart,

Let’s have a discussion. You are a great place. You keep prices low so poor college students (like myself) can afford to eat real food. However, you are a real pain in the neck. You never have enough checkout lanes open and your aisles are too narrow. I haven’t shopped at your fine establishment in 2 weeks, but I thought I would give you a chance. However, you let me down. Not only did I have to wait over 20 minutes to check out, but you also sold me carrots that were 2 weeks over the “use by” date. I will no longer be shopping at your establishment and will be taking my business back to Publix, “where shopping is a pleasure.” Sure it may cost me a few dollars more, but I would rather have fresh food.

Sincerely,

Katy

After shopping I had a nice lunch:

The other half of the honeycrisp from this morning, a small spinach salad, and a lovely sandwich. The sandwich had some spinach and artechoke hummus, tomato, spinach, olives, and tuna all wedged in between a slice of ezekiel bread.

My parents are here and I am starting to get really nervous for my show tonight! Off to go put my hair in hot rollers! 🙂

Have a great evening! 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2010 10:08 pm

    Adding you to my ‘running blog’ websites! Love your blog! You need to give a warning NOT to read your blog when one is hungry-DANG girl!! I want to go out and spend $500 at Wal-….er I mean a LOCAL GROCERY STORE, so I can make some of these yummy looking dishes!!
    And great job on your 5mile ‘fast’ run, I cant wait til I can run lower 8s!

    • November 14, 2010 9:18 am

      Aw, thank you! It is an honor to be added to your ‘running blog’ websites! 🙂

  2. November 13, 2010 11:24 pm

    I really hate Walmart…Publix or produce stands all the way!

  3. November 14, 2010 1:25 am

    Hey Katy! Just found your blog through Faith, Fitness, Fun. So I thought I’d say hi!

    When I was in college, Walmart was my go-to grocery store as well. Even some of the things I wanted to buy there weren’t in my budget! Ahh, college 🙂

    Anyways, looking forward to reading more!

  4. Mary Sputo permalink
    November 14, 2010 1:55 am

    Yes, I whole heartily agree about Wal- Mart. Why have all those check out lanes and never enough cashiers or more open lanes!?! We really enjoyed the show tonight and more importantly we are so proud of your performance! You have a gorgeous voice and it really shows how hard you have worked on developing it. Your dedication is truly amazing and we could not be more proud of the beautiful person you are. Your friends and “sisters” spoke so admirably and genuinely of you when we met after the show – it pumped me up with joy!. You are so loved by many but none more deeply than by your parents! HUGS sweetie! Mom ❤

  5. November 14, 2010 12:04 pm

    ugg! i totally stopped shopping at walmart for that exact reason! they are such a horrible establishment!

  6. Daddy permalink
    November 14, 2010 7:20 pm

    I stopped liking Wal-Mart when they removed the benches from the front of the store here in Gainesville 😦

Leave a Reply

