Skip to content

9 miles… in the books!

November 14, 2010

“Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do.”- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Good afternoon everyone! I have a lot to catch up on and a lot of pictures to post!

First off, I would like to thank Tina at Faith, Fitness, Fun for answering my question about blogging! She wrote an AMAZING and thoughtful post. Please check it out here! Thanks Tina! πŸ™‚ Please go to her blog- she is an amazing woman and I love reading her blog daily! πŸ™‚

Next, my show had it’s closing night last night and it was great! Usually by the time closing night comes around I’m ready for the show to be over and to get my life back, but it was not the case with this show. This was the most talented cast I have ever worked with and it was an honor to share the stage with such talented ladies. Like they say, all good things must come to an end- off to other shows! I have my next audition on Tuesday! πŸ™‚

Here are some pictures from Act II:

After the show we headed over to a local lounge and had a great time chatting and having fun. I unfortunately forgot my camera so there is no photographic evidence that this happened! 😦

This morning I had to do my 9 mile long run that I pushed back from yesterday. I didn’t make it into bed until around 1:15am so I slept in a little later than I wanted to. However, I was up and out the door by 9:30. I made my way to Downtown Jacksonville to run along the river. I essentially took the same route I did last week.

Pre-run fuel:

The run went pretty well, although my phone GPS lost signal a few times so I splits are WAY off. 😦 I can’t wait to (hopefully) receive my Garmin this week! Running with a Droid Incredible is a bit of a pain.

Here are my (not so accurate) splits:

Mile 1: 7:46
Mile 2: 8:23 (16:10)
Mile 3: 8:20 (24:31)
Mile 4: 8:51 (33:22)
Mile 5: 7:40 (41:03)
Mile 6: 8:44 (49:47)
Mile 7: 8:26 (58:13)
Mile 8: 8:47(1:07:01)
Mile 9: 7:07 (1:14:55)
TOTAL:1:14:55
Average pace: 8:19

I hesitated posting my splits because they are WAY off. I have no idea what was going on. All in all, it was a great run! I felt strong throughout most of it. I will admit I was a bit of an idiot and didn’t drink water until the end, and I had no sort of fuel throughout the run. I started to feel a little tired around mile 7 (which is when I should probably fuel), but I made it though the run. This coming Saturday I will (hopefully) have my Garmin and I am going to buy a fuel belt this week! πŸ™‚

My exhaustion hides how excited I was that I completed the run! πŸ™‚

After the run, I hit some Jaguars game day traffic (I should have checked to see if they had a game today…oops!) so by the time I made it to my apartment I was STARVING! I was in the mood for some waffles so I made my rendition of pumpkin waffles! πŸ™‚

Pumpkin Waffles with Cranberry Sauce (makes 2):

Ingredients:

For waffles-
7 T whole wheat flour
1.5 packets Truvia
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 egg
7 T almond milk
1/4 cup pumpkin
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon

For cranberry sauce
1/2 cup cranberry
1 packet of Truvia

Directions:
1) Combine flour, Truvia, baking powder, egg, almond milk, pumpkin, vanilla, and cinnamon in a bowl.
2) Heat up waffle iron and spray with cooking oil.
3) Pour a rounded 1/4 cup of batter on hot iron.
4) Cook until done.
5) Heat up cranberries in microwave for 40 seconds or until mushy.
6) Crush cranberries with fork and mix in Truvia.
7) Top on the waffles.

A great post workout breakfast (or brunch)- pumpkin waffle with a spinach, tomato, and green pepper omeletteΒ with a honeycrisp apple! πŸ™‚

I hope everyone has a great Sunday! I’m off to do some homework and ice my knees! πŸ™‚


3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 12:48 pm

    Hello! I just found your blog through Tina. I guess you can now count one more reader for your blog! πŸ™‚
    I completely understand you about the phone and GPS situation. Mine decided to die randomly in the middle of my long run yesterday, so now I have stats for only the 5 out of the 10 miles I ran. I really want a garmin, but those things are so expensive. Maybe I can ask Santa for an early Christmas gift?

    • November 15, 2010 4:19 pm

      Thanks for finding me! πŸ™‚

      That sucks about the GPS! Maybe Santa will be good to you this Christmas. πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. Auditions and Leftovers « The Singing Runner

Leave a Reply

