Skip to content

Ice Ice Baby

November 15, 2010

The pictures make my injury look a lot worse than it really is. I promise! πŸ™‚

This afternoon was filled with so many fun events! First on the agenda was a scavenger hunt hosted by my sorority. We are raising money/ awareness for the Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation and we have a whole week of fun events! I am super excited because all of the Greek organizations on campus are involved and it’s allowing me the chance to get to know new people. πŸ™‚

After the scavenger hunt I hit the gym for an easy cross training workout. I completed 3.5 miles in 35:00 on the elliptical. While at the gym, I did some people watching. Now that I am running more and know what is a comfortable mile pace for myself, I start to look at others and figure out what pace they are going at. For instance, there was a guy on the treadmill across the gym. He was going at a pretty steady pace, but I kept wondering to myself if I was faster than him. I also catch myself doing this when I see a runner while I am driving in my car. I don’t know if it’s just me being curious, or a bit competitive. Maybe a little bit of both. πŸ˜‰ Oh, and I totally think that I could have run faster than the guy, just sayin’. πŸ˜‰

For dinner tonight I wanted something a little different and I found some quinoaΒ in the pantry. I threw together an easy vegetable quinoa dish.

Savory Rosemary Vegetable Quinoa (makes 2 servings):

Ingredients:
1/4 cup quinoa
1/2 cup water
1.5-2 oz carrots
1 celery stalk
2-3 cherry tomatoes
1/4 cup onion
1/8-1/4 cup green pepper
1-3 large olives
Juice of one lemon
A palmful of Rosemary
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1) Rinse quinoa in strainer until water runs clear.
2) Combine quinoa and water in a small sauce pan.
3) Bring to boil and simmer for 15 minutes.

4) Slice/ dice carrots, celery, green pepper, onion, tomatoes, and olives and put into a bowl. Add lemon juice.
5) Add cooked quinoa to bowl and mix together.
6) Add rosemary, salt, and pepper to taste. Serve with a fresh salad.

It was such a yummy dinner and really hit the spot. πŸ™‚ I also had a nice “cocktail” of pills for “dessert.”


My father suggested I take some natural supplements to try and repair/ prevent any future injuries. It’s worth a try! πŸ™‚

Oh, and on a completely different note, I cut my first pomegranate tonight! I received a Pom-a-Gram from POMWonderful the other day and I’ve been dying to try it for days! πŸ™‚

It got a little messy…

But it was oh so much fun! πŸ™‚

The arils were so tasty! I can’t wait to pick up another pomegranate from the store! πŸ™‚

Well I believe that is it for tonight! I’m going to shower, catch up on my blog reading, and hit the sack!

I hope everyone has had a great day! πŸ™‚

Reader Question: Have you tried any interesting or new foods lately? Do you find yourself Β “checking out the competition” during your workouts? What can I do to make this blog more personal to you?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 10:37 pm

    I constantly compare myself to other runners. It’s pretty much inevitable. Since I’m so new to the sport, it motivates me to watch a really beautiful (read: fast) runner and think, “I’ll be there some day, just keep running”. I try not to look at it in a competitive way, because some people are naturally good runners and some are not.

  2. Mary Sputo permalink
    November 15, 2010 11:07 pm

    Yummmmm, that pomegranate looks good. Can honestly say I have never tried one. Maybe over Thanksgiving you can make it at home for me! As far as new foods, quinoa and buckwheat grains are new and I especially love quinoa… don’t think I will go back to rice! Anyway love your blog this evening… your competitive nature is refreshing. Love ya! ❀

  3. November 16, 2010 12:59 pm

    I always check out the competition in a fitness related sense! It’s a bad habit of mine. At least its not viewing how other women LOOK as competition anymore. I think fitness related can be good motivation. That’s what I tell myself at least.

Leave a Reply

