Skip to content

Brace Yourself…Trust Yourself

November 18, 2010

“Accept the challenges, so you may feel the exhilaration of victory.” -George S. Patton

The internet in my apartment is STILL not working. 😦 I have resorted to sitting in the music recital hall for the next two hours until my next class at 3 so that I can update this blog, register for races and do some homework. At least I am being entertained by the brass ensemble while they practice. πŸ™‚

Since I couldn’t post anything yesterday, I’ll do a short recap:

I have been complaining about knee problems all week, and yesterday I finally broke down and bought a new knee brace. Good thing I had a $4 off coupon (thanks CVS!)

I also picked up some nuts at the store.

I love this blend of nuts and I ate half of the can throughout the day… I will admit though, I felt a little guilty about eating so many of the nuts. :/

I had to have an early lunch yesterday because of my class schedule so it was rather small.

I also went on aΒ 5 4 mile run. I was able to try out my new knee brace (the one on the left is the new one. The other one is from a previous injury)

I thought that the brace worked pretty well. My run was pretty rough though. I started with a little pain, but by the 4 mile mark, I was having a lot of sharp pain right under the knee cap. 😦 Even though I’m incredibly stubborn, I’m not stupid, and I knew that I needed to stop. So I did- unwillingly. As I got into the car my eyes started to well up with tears because I felt like I was letting myself down. I know that others will tell me that I was not and that 1 extra mile isn’t going to be a huge deal in the end, but I was being faced with so many emotions. Emotions about the run, emotions about the half- Β marathon coming up and if this pain is going to keep lingering, emotions about the half can of nuts I had eaten earlier… I just felt like everything was crashing down.

But I kept telling myself everything would be ok, and I just need to believe in that. Today I had a planned rest day (0ther than my tap class which I took easy) and tomorrow while I’m supposed to run 2.5 miles, I’m not going to push it. If I don’t feel 100%, I’m not going to run tomorrow- I may just go on the bike at the gym. A few days off isn’t going to kill me and I need to trust in myself and my training up to this point to know this. That’s my goal for the next few days- learning to trust in myself- and I challenge others to partake in this challenge if you have difficulties trusting yourself. We can do it together! πŸ™‚

Oh, and my run still wasn’t horrible time-wise: I still ran 4 miles in 33:50 at a 8:27 pace per mile. Not my best by any means but given the circumstances, I’ll take it. πŸ™‚

After the near breakdown, I had a sorority event to go to. Last night we hosted an all-you-can eat nachos party for $5 per person. We raised over $200 in under 2 hours which was great! I was assigned to distribute the nacho chips and I stole a few here and there so that became most of my dinner. I had a salad when I got back to my apartment though.

At this event I realized how much nacho cheese disturbs me…you know the BRIGHT ORANGE cheese that is sold at athletic games? It was sitting right next to me for 2 hours and I kept flinching every time I looked at it. It was like a car crash; it’s horrible to look at but you can’t look away. I’m a weird one. πŸ˜‰

After dinner I was exhausted so I hit the sack EARLY!

This morning I dug deep in my fridge for breakfast (I still need to go to the store!). I had my typical boring breakfast.

I’m almost ready to let go of pumpkin for the season. I may grab a few more cans when I go to the store to end the season with a bang. πŸ™‚

After tap and my piano lesson, I made my way back to my apartment for lunch. However, I was still in a breakfast mood.

I had originally intended to make an omelette, but it fell apart and turned into scrambled egg whites. I’ll call my creation a “scrambled omelette!” In the mix was chopped spinach, tomatoes, green peppers, and onions. I also had ezekiel bread with cinnamon sugar and half an apple (which went uneaten due to the weird texture it had).

That is it for all! Keep crossing your fingers that I get internet again! πŸ™‚ Have a great day! πŸ™‚

Reader Questions: Do you have any foods that make you cringe when you look at them? How do you “pick yourself up and dust yourself off” after a bad run? Do you have any lingering injuries?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 1:34 pm

    So sorry about your knee pain- so frustrating when you want to work out hard and cannot. I don’t even think I could run 1 mile at that pace, so good for you! Whenever I overindulge in something, I think about why I did it. Perhaps your body was telling you that you needed fuel and perhaps you did. Also, it was a healthy snack, so a half a jar of nuts is much better than a half a jar of sugar πŸ™‚

    When I look at mayo, I want to gag. So disgusting to me.

  2. Mary Sputo permalink
    November 18, 2010 1:44 pm

    Ahhh one of my favorite quotes… they literally have this written on the wall at my gym. Katy do trust in yourself because through all the challenges you will be even stronger. You are doing the appropriate adjustments in your running goals and I know you will safely reach them by the time your 1/2 marathon takes place. Of course you know how proud I am of you…. so I leave you with this quote by Earl Nightingale, “People with goals succeed because they know where they are going.” Love ya bunches! =)

  3. November 18, 2010 6:51 pm

    I totally save those CVS coupons too πŸ™‚ I had an injured heel this summer, so I learned the benefits of cross training. I missed running for a while, but it was helpful in the leg run. I hope you get better soon!

Leave a Reply

