Skip to content

Oh Florida, you are such a tease!

November 19, 2010

“You don’t have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step.”- Martin Luther King, Jr.

Oh Florida, why don’t you ever produce a real Fall? You know, with the leaves changing into all sorts of pretty colors? Here it is, mid-November and the leaves are still green. At least you gave me a little tease of cooler weather this morning. πŸ™‚

When I woke up this morning, it was freezing in my apartment, but I am running pretty low on food right now. I scraped what I could find.

1/4 cup multi-grain oats
1 container of plain greek yogurt
Cinnamon

 

For the first time in a long time I took my breakfast and ate in bed. I did not want to go to class this morning. Staying in bed sounded so much more appealing. πŸ˜‰ I did finally muster up the courage to go to class.

After my morning classes, I came back to my apartment and made lunch.

I still had some of that awful fake chicken in my freezer so I made a wrap with it, hoping that the veggies would overpower the texture. It sort of worked. πŸ˜‰

Not necessarily the most visually appealing lunch. I need to work on my photography skills! πŸ˜‰

I actually want to set up a small area in my apartment where I can photograph my food and make this blog look a little more professional. Eventually I would like to invest in a good D-SLR camera, but I’m far away from having enough money saved up! The good ol’ point and shoot will have to suffice until then. πŸ™‚

I’ll leave you with the following question:

I am going to the store today and I am looking for new ways to get protein into my diet (I have heard great things about tempeh…thoughts?). I hate having to live off of Boca Burgers, whey protein powder, nuts, and eggs all the time. Any good products out there where I can get a LOT of protein without too much fat and calories? I am a pescetarian meaning that I will eat dairy and seafood products but no meat products (such as chicken, turkey, etc.).

Have a great day! πŸ™‚

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 1:40 pm

    I am always focusing on protein and eventually added chicken and turkey back into my diet to get more. However, for protein if you like cottage cheese it is loaded with protein and very low on calories. Also, peanut flour isn’t necessarily protein powder, but 1/4 c of it has 140 cals and 16 g protein. If you mix that with a greek yogurt, you get about 30 g protein!
    Have you tried tofu before? When I was vegetarian, I ate it a lot with hummus. Any kind of fish has protein, too! My favorite (and pretty much only seafood I eat) is shrimp.
    I think since you don’t eat meat, dairy is the best way to get protein. Good luck πŸ™‚

  2. November 19, 2010 2:47 pm

    Eggs, tuna, lentils, beans are all great sources of natural protein for fairly cheap prices. You can get individual packets of tuna for 70 calories, beans average 90-100 calories per 1/2 cup, eggs 70 calories per large egg (or 17 calories for a large egg white). There are tons of options! Frozen shrimp are also fantastic!!

  3. November 19, 2010 5:33 pm

    I recommend tempeh. I don’t like tofu, but I like the texture of tempeh a lot. In fact I eat it raw on sandwiches with hummus, lettuce, and tomato.

Leave a Reply

