Skip to content

Double digits baby!

November 20, 2010

“It is a rough road that leads to the heights of greatness.”- Seneca

10 miles!

10 miles in the books. It wasn’t easy at all, but it is done.

I woke up at 6:20 this morning ready to hit the pavement! My knees felt great and I was very optimistic that it would be a great run! I had my pre-run fuel:

I think I have finally figured out my pre-run fuel. Without getting too personal, whenever I would eat fruit, specifically a banana, before a run, I would get REALLY bad cramps which would make me feel sick during and after a long run. However, if I stick to a piece of toast with some sort of nut (peanut, almond, sunflower, etc) butter, I don’t get cramps. Also, if I stop eating dairy 12-18 hours before a long run, I don’t have as many issues.

A little tired but ready to run! 🙂

The run didn’t go as well as planned. My knees felt GREAT up until mile 6. I stopped so I could eat some fuel (I tried the Honey Stingers today and they were delicious and easy to chew! Definitely a keeper!). When I started to run again, my left knee was KILLING me! It felt like my knee had an elephant sitting on it. I was able to push myself through the initial pain and end the 10 mile run, but my pace definitely suffered. I kept saying (outloud) “Come on knee! You can do this!” Once I hit the 10 mile mark, I still had over .75 miles to my car. I was running along a BEAUTIFUL street on a different side of town. I usually underestimate how far I go on a run so by the time I make it back to my car, I am under my distance. I usually have to wander around side streets to complete the distance.

However, as fate would have it, I overestimated my distance so I ended up having to walk to my car. Needless to say, I wasn’t happy.

(This may be a forced smile through pain and exhaustion!)

Overall I am proud of myself for running 10 miles. I never EVER would have thought I would be able to run further than a 5K, let alone 10 miles. However, I am not very pleased with my time. I know that I need to get my knee better, but I have no idea what is wrong with it. It felt absolutely fine until I stopped for a minute at 6 miles. I have faith that it will get better, but I am nervous at the same time since my half- marathon is only 48 days away.

Here are my splits:

Mile 1: 8:08.58
Mile 2: 8:09.28
Mile 3: 8:25.36
Mile 4: 8:21.35
Mile 5: 8:26.98
Mile 6: 8:41.87
Mile 7: 8:35.52
Mile 8: 8:59.90- difficult mile
Mile 9: 9:04.04- another difficult mile
Mile 10: 8:54.17
.04: 0:20.53
TOTAL: 1:26:07.58 (8:34 pace)

Oh, what’s that? Oh, that would be my brand new Garmin Forerunner 305!!! 🙂 A very early Christmas present from my parents! (Thank you!!! 🙂 ) To anyone who owns a Garmin Forerunner, is there anyway in the Garmin Training Center to show the elapsed time per mile? I can see the split time for each mile but I can not see what the total time up to that point for each mile (ie- for mile 2 it would read the split time 8:09.28 and then total elapsed time 16:17.86 and so on).

After my run I was actually hungry, which surprised me since I am usually not! I was in the mood for fruit so I whipped up some crepes. 🙂 They were a little thick, but I actually like thicker crepes.

Very Berry and Almond Whole Wheat Crepes (makes 6-8 crepes)

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 T all purpose flour
1 cup almond milk
1 egg
Dash of salt
1 T sugar (if desired)
2 cups of assorted frozen or fresh fruit (I used frozen blackberries, strawberries, and blueberries)
1 handful crushed almonds

 

Directions:

1) Mix together flour, milk, egg, salt, and sugar in a small bowl.
2) In a sauce pan over medium heat add berries and heat until warm and syrup from fruit is thick.
3) Heat up and lightly grease a large frying pan or skillet.
4) Add 2-4 table spoons batter to the pan and remove from heat.
5) Turn pan to spread batter out and make into a thin layer. Cook on one side.
6) Remove from heat and repeat.

7) Add fruit and crushed almonds to center of crepe and roll up!

I paired my crepes with an egg white scramble with spinach.

A great breakfast after a long run! 🙂

That’s it for now! I’m off to do a LOT of school work! Only 2 more days of classes until Thanksgiving Break! 🙂

Reader Question/ Desperate Plea for help: I am writing a news article for class (and possible publication in my school’s newspaper) about running and proper nutrition. I need to interview 2 people, and one person MUST be an expert in the field (either a personal trainer, nutritionist, etc) and the other can just have a great story. If anyone knows of ANYONE (or if you yourself) that I can ask a few questions for my article, I would GREATLY appreciate it if you could let me know. I am on a HUGE time crunch (the first draft is due Monday!) and everyone I have contacted thus far has backed out on me. If you are interested, please please PLEASE leave me a comment below or e-mail me at thesingingrunner@yahoo.com. I normally wouldn’t do this, but I am getting very desperate/ worried!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 1:10 pm

    Wow! Good for you! I am super impressed by your 10 miler. I can’t even maintain a below 9:30 pace for a 5K! Just goes to show what a little time and effort can do for your pacing.

    I’m certainly no expert in running and nutrition, but I am a new runner. No exciting stories, but I can help you out if you need me to. On my website, under the tab “Workouts” and “Running and Races” you’ll find my little stories about how I became a runner. Feel to to give those a read and if you think I’ll work for the paper, let me know!

  2. November 20, 2010 2:42 pm

    great job on the 10 miler!!! i need to try those stingers!

  3. November 20, 2010 3:54 pm

    jeez, you are fast! I still cannot manage to eat so early in the morning. Everything kind of makes me gag… And I know this is not a good approach. So, I just eat shots during the run. Powerbars are my favorite up to now, but I should give those stingers a try…

  4. November 22, 2010 4:19 pm

    Congrats on the 10 miler and SMOKIN’ pace!! I just ran my first 10 miler this past weekend-felt great! and that food looks so tasty!!!

Trackbacks

  1. 100! « The Singing Runner
  2. A Very Merry 10 Miles « The Singing Runner

Leave a Reply

