Skip to content

Confession time

November 22, 2010

I have a confession to make. Are you ready?

When I made my training schedule for my half- marathon, I made a 12 week plan into a 13 week plan.

I did this intentionally. Why you may ask?

Because I knew that there was a 90% chance that I would have an injury along the way.

And I was right.

I knew that if I put that extra week into my plan, I wouldn’t freak out as much if I got injured. I’m still freaking out, but I am learning self- control. I am controlling my urge to go out and run like I have been for the past 6 weeks.

My knee still hurts, but it’s getting better. If I actually stand and move around for awhile, my knee has no pain at all. It’s when I sit for long periods of time (ie- class!) that my knee gets stiff and hurts.

I hit the gym today for day one of cross-training for injuries 101. I did almost 19 minutes on the elliptical for 2 miles (I’m not the biggest fan of the elliptical. I don’t think it’s very accurate. Thoughts?) I then hit the bike for just under 22 minutes and 4.15 miles. I had absolutely no pain during my workout at the gym today. I did an easy jog from the gym to my apartment (under half a mile) and only had a little pain.

I will get better and I know it will take time. But I will get better…with self- control and a little TLC. 🙂

After the gym I had dinner, but I was in a really weird food mood. I’ll let the pictures do the talking:

1/2 cup multi grain oatmeal
1/2 apple
1 container of plain greek yogurt
Cinnamon

It was pretty tasty! 🙂

Carrot sticks with hummus and salsa? With oatmeal and yogurt?

You can tell I was in a weird food mood. Oh well, delicious food is on its way on Thursday!

I can’t wait to go home tomorrow! I haven’t been home in over 2 months! 🙂

Good night everyone! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

