Skip to content

Rainy days and Mondays

November 29, 2010

“There is an itch in runners.”  – Arnold Hano (So simple, but true!) 🙂

Foam rollers are a Godsend.

I consider the $22 dollars I spent on mine some of the best money spent. If you don’t have one, go out and buy one!

Today was my first day back from break and let me tell you, it was weird going to class again. Thanksgiving Break is such a tease. You have a nice and wonderful break but you still have to go to a week and a half of classes. Oh well, the end is in sight.

This was the second morning in a row that I have woken up with no knee pain. 🙂 My optimism is growing every day.

Since I didn’t have to go to my 9am class, I started my day a little later. I rolled out of bed at 8am and had a nice breakfast.

1 container plain Greek yogurt
Pumpkin
Frozen Cranberries
1/4 cup oats

While my knees felt GREAT when I woke up, after sitting in class for 50 minutes, my knees HURT. They were incredibly stiff and I started to worry. I figured I would try to foam roll them so I walked back to my apartment (my knees started feeling better by just walking) and after I foam rolled each IT band for a good minute or two, my legs felt so much better! I have been foam rolling all day! I’m amazed how much it helped!

Lunch was simple and clean:

A nice veggie wrap with some celery and carrots. 🙂

1 whole wheat wrap
Zucchini
Tomatoes
Pepper
Red pepper hummus
1 cup spinach

All day I debated whether or not to try and workout. I have been taking it super easy since my 10k last Thursday. I was a little nervous to go to the gym after my gym meltdown on Friday, but I was feeling really good. So I hit the gym for an easy workout. I told myself that I would stop if I had ANY pain…and to my surprise, I didn’t have any! I looked pretty banged up (two IT band straps and my knees taped with bright pink KT tape!) but I held my own. In the end, I hit the bike for 25 minutes (4.73 easy miles) and the elliptical for 11 minutes for a SUPER easy mile.

After the gym I rushed back to my apartment to do more foam rolling and ICE my knees down! We’ll see how I feel in the morning, but I am hoping that I am on the road to recovery. 🙂

One more exciting thing to happen today was…

Oh yes, it is that time of year again! 🙂 I see a lot of baking in my future… which is GREAT because I have a holiday party to attend this weekend AND the blogger gift exchange to look forward to! 🙂 (Make sure you sign up for the gift exchange if you haven’t already!)

I’m off to a meeting! Have a great evening! 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 6:48 pm

    Glad the foam rolling helped! 12 days of cookies sounds good to me 🙂

  2. November 29, 2010 9:43 pm

    hey! just came across your blog and can’t wait to keep reading!
    come and check out mine!!
    jenna

    • November 30, 2010 2:08 pm

      Definitely! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

