Skip to content

The Cross Your Fingers Casserole (Done The Singing Runner Way!)

November 30, 2010

Yesterday Caitlin over at Healthy Tipping Point posted her successful dinner casserole. Inspired, I decided to try my hand at throwing together a casserole. Now I had two things going against me:

1) I’ve never made a casserole.
2) I have limited items in my fridge and pantry.

Nevertheless, I decided to try. The worse that could happen would be that I would have to eat oatmeal for dinner.

I scoured the pantry for items and I hit another roadblock… I had no pasta. No worries, I had some barley. I found some protein and veggies.

So here’s The Cross Your Fingers Casserole (Done The Singing Runner Way!):

Ingredients (for 2-3 servings):

1/2 cup barley (measured dry)
1/4 cup chopped tomatoes
1 small (8 oz) can tomato sauce
1/4 cup chopped zucchini
1 can tuna
1/8 cup salsa
1-2 handfuls of spinach
Pepper
Dash of sugar (if desired)

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees
2) Boil water and cook barley according to package directions
3) In a medium bowl, mix together tomato sauce, drained tuna, zucchini and tomatoes.

4) Add spinach. Mix in pepper and sugar (if desired- I added it because my sauce needed more balance)
5) Mix in cooked barley.
6) Pour mixture into a casserole dish. Top with salsa.
7) Cover and cook for 35-40 minutes.

The casserole tasted great with (you guessed it) asparagus. πŸ™‚

The dish tasted good to me, but I have weird tastes. Feel free to change it up… or better yet, make your own “cross your fingers casserole” and let me know how it turns out! πŸ™‚

This evening I hit the gym for a 25 minute stationary bike ride (5 miles) and 15 minutes on the elliptical (1.7 miles). I am REALLY itching to run again. I am growing to really dislike the gym. I’m one of those people who likes to be alone when they train because it gives me the chance to think.

In other news, today I FINALLY got Google Reader! Why haven’t I done it before? I follow so many blogs now that it gets crazy to visit each of them individually! With Google Reader, I can read them all at one time! (Make sure you add me to your Google Reader if you haven’t already ;)) Oh, andΒ I also updated my blog roll today!

I’m off to prepare for a presentation I have tomorrow! I am so ready for classes to be over! The end is in sight and tomorrow is the first day of December! πŸ™‚

What are your December plans? Have you ever thrown together a meal and ended up with a success? What are some of your favorite blogs (I’m always looking for new ones to read!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 9:45 pm

    If I lived without Google Reader, I think my life would be chaos! Welcome to the Greader club!

    I always get bored with the gym eventually. I get bored with workouts too and have to mix it up or else I’ll just go in an exercise slump. Since you prefer to workout alone, I suggest trying some workout DVDs or Tabata (body weight workouts that require no equipment).

  2. November 30, 2010 10:28 pm

    This looks great but I think I’d replace the tuna with chicken, would that still work ok you think?

  3. December 1, 2010 11:04 am

    You are already on my Reader. (o:

Leave a Reply

