Skip to content

2 Miles of Happiness

December 2, 2010

“Success is determined by how determined you are to succeed.” -Unknown

I apologize for the rushed post earlier today! My friend had just gotten into town, but I wanted to update real quick! I didn’t get to touch on my run yesterday and I wanted to elaborate on it.

I woke up yesterday morning with a little pain in the left leg, but nothing too extreme. The pain was there pretty much all day, but I decided that I was mentally 150% ready to run and 90% physically. I had to do it. I couldn’t wait any longer. After choir rehearsal I rushed to my apartment to change and drove down to my usual running spot. I didn’t have too much time to play with since it was 5pm and sunset was at 5:26pm.

I decided that I wasn’t going to push myself and if I had pain, I would stop, no matter what. I also wasn’t going to focus on time. I was going to focus on just running again. The first .5 mile was very weird. It was like my body didn’t know what to do. Everything hurt- my legs, knees, ankles, torso…everything. Once I got into a good groove, I felt GREAT! I ran on both the grass and on the sidewalk. I thought the grass would be easier on my knees, but I found the sidewalk MUCH better (the grass here in Jacksonville is pretty rocky.)

I kept a steady pace and before I knew it, I was done. I felt like I could have gone further, but I didn’t want to push it. However, those 2 miles, the 16:27, I ran were some of the happiest moments I have had running. I finally remembered how it felt to run and my joy for running returned.

I am still not pain free. I woke up today with knee pain (which I expected) and the pain lasted all day- up until my chorus concert this evening.

Three weeks have past since I first started feeling the pain of this injury and I have been in constant pain since then. I can’t remember what it feels like to not be in pain…however, the pain is manageable. I will be back! 🙂 36 days to go till Disney! 🙂

Back to today…

Dinner tonight was a new recipe. My friend Taylor (who is visiting until Saturday) went out to eat after my chorus concert with some other friends while I returned to my apartment to do homework (as it turns out, my professor gave us an extension of our assignment…). I still have tofu in my fridge so I decided to make my own tofu dish.

Lemon Rosemary Honey Tofu:


Ingredients (1 serving):

1/4 block of tofu
1 T lemon juice
1 T honey
1/2 T black pepper
1/2 T dried rosemary
1/2 T extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees
2) Cut tofu and press out extra water. Place between two plates for 15 minutes.
3) In a microwave safe bowl, mix together lemon juice, honey, pepper, rosemary, and olive oil.
4) Microwave sauce for 30 seconds
5) Cut tofu into 1 inch blocks and marinade in sauce.
6) Place tofu in oven safe dish and pour part of extra marinade onto tofu.
7) Bake for 25 minutes, flipping after 15 minutes.
Enjoy!

I paired the tofu with the remaining veggies I had in my fridge.

In my last post, I briefly discussed that I baked last night… here are the goodies I baked:

Ferrero Rocher Cupcakes from Lick the Bowl Good. (This is the third time I have made these!)

Chocolate Chip Cookie Balls from The Chic Life.  (I will be making more of these this weekend!)

Nutella Brownies from BigOven.com (I don’t like brownies nor Nutella too much, but these are delicious!)

More baking to come in the next few weeks! 🙂

Have a great evening!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 10:47 pm

    Congrats on the run!

    You better believe I’ll be making that tofu…The flavors of rosemary, lemon, and honey sound AMAZING…like a soothing but zippy combination!

  2. December 2, 2010 10:55 pm

    Glad you are feeling better!

    Holy cow – I don’t bake that much in a month, let alone a few nights 🙂 I’m jealous!

  3. December 3, 2010 12:00 pm

    congrats girl! sounds like a good run- and oh my i love the look of that tofu!

  4. December 3, 2010 12:23 pm

    Your tofu looks really good!

Leave a Reply

