Skip to content

End of the Semester Push

December 5, 2010

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”- Ralph Waldo Emerson

Good evening everyone! I hope everyone had a great day and a even better weekend! This weekend treated me pretty well, except for today, which was spent studying and practicing for my upcoming exams/performance juries.

(I forgot to mention in my last post that I ran yesterday. Yesterday I was short of time so I was only able to run 2.04 miles with a total time of 16:10.64 (average pace 7:56). I wanted to run 3.0 miles but I am glad I didn’t otherwise I would have been SUPER late to my holiday party!)

When I woke up this morning I forgot that I still had not gone grocery shopping. Breakfast consisted of whatever I could find:

3 egg whites with a handful of spinach and tomatoes
A handful of almonds with chocolate chips and a crushed up Banana Coconut Blondie from the arts market yesterday.
And a Cranberry and Pumpkin Muffin from the freezer.

I spent the majority of my morning practicing a piano piece that I have to perform on Tuesday. I have realized that I am awful at playing the piano. I can’t play both hands together, which is making me really nervous because I have to perform this for a grade. Ahh! I’ll just stick to singing. 😉

After a morning of practicing and a nice shower, I finally headed to Publix for food. 🙂 I assembled lunch at around 2:30.

I tossed some seasoned tofu on the foreman and steamed up broccoli and tomatoes. 🙂

Along with an iced peppermint tea. A very filling lunch if you ask me.

After more studying (and blog reading 😉 Have you read Meghann and Marci’s race recaps yet? Great job ladies! ), I headed to the gym for a cross training session. Sometimes I have the worst luck at the gym. Today I did a 15 minute warm up on the stationary bike, but the left pedal kept sticking. Then the elliptical I got on made an AWFUL hissing sound whenever it would change the incline. Nevertheless, I biked for 2.77 miles and was on the elliptical for 2.53 miles. I think that the elliptical distance was way off because I was on it for 35:00 at a very hard pace. The distance doesn’t match the effort or the time. Also it said I burned 514 calories(?!?)…ah, I never believe the readings anyway. 😉

Once I was done with the gym, I headed over to the music building and spent the next 2 hours in the practice rooms. Spending 2 hours in a white, cinderblock room with a piano and a mirror isn’t the way I really wanted to spend my Sunday evening.

But you do what you have to do right. 😉 Besides, I wasn’t the only one there and I had a good time during my breaks talking to people in the hallway.

I also took some “artistic” photos of my music.

I didn’t make it back to my apartment until close to 10pm. I had full intentions of eating a great dinner, but opted for something much more simple.

I bought some garlic marinated tempeh today at the store so I grilled it up and paired it with a salad.

Sometimes simplicity is key!

Tomorrow I don’t have any finals, but I do have a piano lesson in the late morning. I also have a web seminar to attend at 12:30 to learn about graduate schools (more about that tomorrow!). 🙂

Have a great evening everyone! 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 12:42 pm

    I do not miss the days of having to study. Good luck on your exam. I’m sure you will do great!

Leave a Reply

