Skip to content

Don’t Judge A Book By Its Cover

December 6, 2010

Evening! This is going to be a quick post because I am actually pretty stressed out about tomorrow. I have my performance juries for vocal and piano. What I have to do is perform a few pieces for the faculty members and I get graded for the semester based off of how I do. I had a pretty rough practice session this evening and I’m starting to lose my voice! I keep telling my body that I only need my voice until 4:30 tomorrow afternoon! Then I can lose it! πŸ˜‰

This afternoon I went for a 3.0 3.05Β mile run. It was in the 40’s and very gusty, but I put in some hard work! All three of my miles were sub-8:00. I haven’t done this in a long time, (if ever) so I am happy. My mile splits were 7:35, 7:54, and 7:43 with an average pace of 7:44.

After my run I iced my knees down. With this IT band injury, I have learned the importance of icing after EVERY run, no matter the distance. It has really helped. Of course Maci loves it when I ice my knees because she gets to lick off the water.

I couldn’t get her to stay still for a picture, but you get the point. πŸ˜‰

Tonight for dinner I tried a new vegetable… brussel sprouts! I have always been scared of them, but I fear them no longer! With a drizzle of olive oil, some pepper, and a good roasting in the oven for 30 minutes, these babies were fantastic!

Never again will I judge a food before I have at least tried it. πŸ™‚

I also had broccoli and tofu with balsamic vinegar and half an apple.

I’m off to stalk watch the bidding for the Holiday Bake Sale! I put a bid on an item and I hope I get it! πŸ™‚

Night! πŸ˜‰

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 8:20 am

    Aww, sorry to hear about the knee. At least the brussels were good…I HATED them as a kid but have yet to try them now…I’m pretty good about trying new things but this is one I’m having a way hard time wrapping my mind around :/

  2. December 7, 2010 11:59 am

    Hello! I saw you over on Tina’s blog ( Faith, Fitness, FUn!)
    I ,too am afraid of brussels sprouts…but you might have me convinced to try some soon! They don’t look half bad! πŸ˜‰
    I just subscribed and I look forward to following your journey!
    Marcia

    • December 7, 2010 10:02 pm

      Thanks for subscribing! I appreciate it! πŸ™‚

  3. December 18, 2010 3:37 pm

    I made brussles sprouts last week…my fmaily loved them ( so did I). πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

