Skip to content

Why Do You Run?

December 6, 2010

“I run because I can. When I get tired, I remember those who can’t run, what they’d give to have this simple gift I take for granted, and I run harder for them. I know they would do the same for me.”

Good afternoon everyone! This popped up on my Facebook newsfeed this morning:

Obviously this is something that I have thought about, but never put into words. It took me aback for a moment. It is clear that I love to run. I love feeling happy after a great run and pushing my body to new mileage goals. When I first started running I could barely run a mile, and now I have run 10 miles at a time. Furthermore, I’ll be running 13.1 in 32 days! 🙂

But what is the REAL reason why I run? What is in the core? I submitted my story to the website, but left a shorter version on the Facebook page:

I run because it has allowed me to get my life back. I developed disordered eating over the summer, to the point where I was eating a very low amount of calories over 3 months. On October 12, 2010 when I signed up for the half- marathon, I got my life back. Running has been my medicine. I know that when I cross the finish line next month, I will be emotional. But all of the struggles, injuries, and doubt will be worth it in the end. 🙂

Some food for thought on a Monday! 😉 Make sure you answer my reader question in the comments section. You could be featured in a later post! 😉

Anyway, this morning I slept in until 8:30, intending to go out and knock out 3.0 miles. However, I fell asleep while finishing an assignment, so I opted to finish it instead. Besides, it was COLD this morning! I fully intend on running in a few hours. 🙂

I have been reading a lot of blogs lately that have been incorporating grilled bananas into their meals. I hear raves and reviews so I figured that I should give it a try.

Holy. Crap. I may have died and gone to heaven. Grilled bananas are A.MA.ZING!

Therefore, I present to you, the Grilled Banana and Brown Sugar Yogurt Bowl.

Ingredients (1 serving):

1 container (or 1 cup) of plain or vanilla Greek yogurt
1 medium banana (quartered and halved)
1/2 T cinnamon
1/2 T brown sugar
1/4 cup oats
Any other toppings (I crumbled an Organic Banana Coconut Blondie in mine)

Directions:

1) Heat skillet to medium heat.
2) Place bananas on skillet and cook for 1-2 minutes until caramelized. Flip as needed.
3) In a bowl add yogurt, oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, other toppings.
4) Transfer bananas into bowl.
Enjoy!

This breakfast is here to stay! 🙂

After breakfast I started on my to-do list:

I turned in my assignment and went to my piano lesson. After my lesson, I rushed back to my apartment to attend a web-seminar at 12:30. The seminar was hosted by the Association of Schools of Public Health and was presented by the Schools of Public Health Application Service. I know that I am a Music Theatre major but I find myself more intrigued by pursuing a master’s degree in public health, specifically Health Promotion. The web seminar lasted around 45 minutes and gave some useful information. I definitely have more research to do on programs, but it was a great overview.

I actually had to watch the presentation on my laptop but call in to hear the audio. It felt like a real conference. 🙂

While listening to the seminar, I made myself lunch. When I was at the store yesterday I picked up a sweet potato (since Heather Eats Almond Butter had a whole week of all things sweet potato related) and I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. Sweet potato fries! 🙂

Cinnamon Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients (1 serving):

1 fist sized sweet potato
1 T olive oil
A dash of sea salt
1/2 T cinnamon

Directions:

1) Cut up sweet potato into thick slices.
2) On a baking sheet, drizzle slices with olive oil and sprinkle with cinnamon and salt.
3) Cook at 450 degrees for 20 minutes.
4) Remove from oven and flip. Cook for an addition 3-5 minutes.
5) Allow to cool for a few minutes and enjoy!

I enjoyed my fries with a salad and an “inside out” veggie burger. This consisted of a wedge of laughing cow cheese, spinach, tomatoes, and salsa. 🙂

I’m off to finish my to-do list for the day! 2 more days of exams. I can do this! 😉

Reader Question: Why do you run (or exercise)? (I’ll post some of my favorite comments in a later post! Can’t wait to hear your stories!)

P.S.- Make sure you check out the Holiday Bake Sale over at Carrots ‘N’ Cake! 🙂
2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 6:44 pm

    That’s an inspiring reason to run! 🙂 Mine is less so, especially lately that my life is kind of bad, stressed, hectic. I run to avoid hurting people! If I channel all my excessive aggression, energy and bad feeling to exercising, I hurt people less (physically and emotionally)…

Trackbacks

  1. Healthy Habits « The Singing Runner

Leave a Reply

