Skip to content

Gimme a Break!

December 8, 2010

“Whether you think you can or think you can’t – you are right.” -Henry Ford

Hello Winter Break 2010! 🙂 I finally made it through the semester! Whew! And just in time…I was losing motivation to go to classes. 😉

Let’s backtrack to yesterday shall we? 😉

I had my two performance juries that went, ok. Just ok. I messed up a few times during my piano jury but since I’ve only been playing piano for a year, they weren’t too difficult on me. My voice jury (the more important one since it is my major), wasn’t too great. I sang my first song pretty well, but I messed up the words in my foreign language piece (I started to sing the second verse at the end when I shouldn’t have…oops!). My third piece was my musical theatre song- and it is LONG! The first verse and refrain went well, but then when I started the second verse, my pianist stopped playing, which caused me to panic and blank out on the words. We had to stop and start the verse again. It all worked out in the end, but it was scary!

Since I was so nervous all day for my juries, I didn’t have a “lunch” per-say. I nibbled throughout the day. :/

After my juries, I was planning on running 4.0 miles but it was very cold and windy outside, so I sucked it up and went to the gym. I ran on the dreadmill treadmill, and decided to do some speedwork. I did .75 warm up followed by 5X400 (at between a 7:00-7:19 pace) with .25 recovery (8:00 pace). The last .1 mile I did at a 6:45 pace! Whew! It kicked my booty but I felt GREAT afterwards! 🙂

Dinner consisted of me trying to empty out my fridge (I apologize for the low lighting!)

Garlic Tempeh with broccoli, brussel sprouts, and tomatoes. 🙂

The rest of the evening consisted of me checking blogs, Facebook stalking, and watching The Biggest Loser studying for my theory final which was this morning.

When I woke up this morning, I wasn’t too hungry. I haven’t slept well the past two nights due to stress! 😦

1 container Greek yogurt, some peaches and 1/4 cup Wheaties Fuel from a race bag.

My exam went pretty well (I hope!) and I got some last minute scheduling problems fixed for the semester. I caught up with a friend for a few hours before heading back to my apartment where, I knew I needed to eat lunch, but I wasn’t hungry (again!)

I choked down 2 slices of Ezekiel Bread- one with PB and honey and the other with red pepper hummus.

Now I’m finishing some last minute packing before heading home! Hopefully my appetite will return tonight since I won’t be able to eat solid food tomorrow (due to a tooth extraction in the morning!). I also hope to hit the gym tonight since I will obviously not be doing any physical activity tomorrow other than typing on a laptop. 😉

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 8:35 pm

    Congrats on surviving! It’s the BEST feeling ever. Second only to a killer workout like that…dang girl, you’re going all out with that speedwork! To me, speedwork is anything under a 9 minute mile…I’ve NEVER enjoyed sprints or anything along that line. That explains why Im such a slowpoke, haha!

Leave a Reply

