Skip to content

Healthy Habits

December 9, 2010

Recently Janetha and Tina have shared their own healthy habits that they live by. This had me thinking, what are my healthy habits? I know that it may sound silly, but I have never sat down and thought about my habits, I just do what I need to do.

So, after some thinking this afternoon (I mean what else am I going to do while I’m recovering from my surgery this morning ;)), I have compiled MY list of healthy habits (some of which may be repeated from their posts):

#1: I stay hydrated and TRY to avoid soda and sugary juices.

I have never been a big juice or soda drinker. I do drink it on occasion (here’s proof), but only when I REALLY need it. I drink a lot of water throughout the day not only to stay hydrated for running, but also for singing. Staying hydrated is a HUGE part of singing because if you are not hydrated, you get mucusy and gross!

#2: I cook my own meals and rarely eat out.

I know that many college students do not have this luxury, but I believe that having my own apartment with a kitchen in college is one of the best things that could have happened to me. I am not relying on someone else cooking for me (campus dining) and I do not have to worry about the calorie and fat content in a meal because I KNOW what I cook and what’s in it. I have a rough estimate of the amount of calories and (healthy!) fats I’m consuming. I don’t have to worry about trans fats in all the fried foods on campus. Also, since I rarely eat out, I can save my (and my parents) money for more useful things (like race entry fees!)

#3: I eat breakfast!

In high school, I NEVER ate breakfast. The thought of breakfast turned my stomach. When I did cross country my junior year, we had practice at 7 in the morning and I never wanted to eat that early. When I started college in August 2008 (has it really been that long?), I began to eat breakfast in my dorm room. Usually I had a bowl of cereal or a packet of oatmeal. As I have gone through school, my breakfast has changed from sugary cereals to eggs or Greek yogurt. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day! 🙂

#4: I set goals for myself.

This may sound basic, but I know so many people that do not set goals for themselves. They just go through the motions of life day to day. I try to set a small realistic goal for myself daily (such as acing a test or pushing myself a little further with my training) and then I also set BIGGER goals (such as training for a half-  marathon or passing a really difficult class). Goals help me get through my day and make me feel accomplished in the end. Also, I love to challenge myself- but maybe this is because I’m really competitive. 😉

#5: I exercise 5-6 days a week.

Exercising is my way to de-stress from the day. Besides breakfast in the morning, the only other time I have to myself during the day is when I exercise. It is my time to think, de-clutter my mind, and get a stronger body at the same time! 🙂

#6: I micromanage my time and make to-do lists.

This could be seen as a bad thing, but I have to micromanage my time. I am BUSY with running, school, sorority events, blogging, and making time for friends. I have a planner where I schedule out my day hour-by-hour and how much time I am going to devote to something. I will say that I did falter a little during finals week, but it was difficult to have motivation with break so near! 😉

#7: I plan for the future.

I may plan a little too much. 😉 I am always looking ahead, even when I am not done with the task at hand! I mean, I am ALREADY looking at marathons to run when I haven’t even completed my half- marathon? My planning does not just deal with running, but I also plan for my educational future. Earlier this week I attended a web-seminar for graduate schools in Public Health and I spent a good 2 hours tonight researching graduate programs.

#8: I surround myself with positive people.

I can not tell you how many years I spent being around negative people. People who would always complain about this or that. Guess what? If you spend time around those type of people, you are going to BE that type of person. Once I started surrounding myself with positive people, my attitude became more positive and I am a happier person. 🙂 (Oh, and the running helped with that too!)

#9: I eat a well- balanced diet.

This goes with making my own meals, but I really do eat pretty healthy. I do slip up occasionally, but I get myself back on track fairly quickly. I am not a fast food eater (that’s what movies like Super Size Me do to you!). I try to eat all my servings of veggies and fruits a day. I also try to get 1 gram of protein per body pound a day and I keep my carbohydrate count low (within reason, I do realize now that I need carbs to run!). Even though I bake a lot, I do not have a big sweet tooth, so I stay away from sugar.

#10: I share my passions with others.

Nothing can be more unhealthy than being passionate about something (anything, doesn’t have to be fitness or health related) but not SHARING your passion with others. As humans, we all have something that we are absolutely passionate about and we need to SHARE it with others. I am passionate about performing AND health/running and I share with others my stories. Yes, sometimes they may get tired of it, but you truly get to know a person based off of their passions! 🙂

I want to thank Janetha and Tina for sharing their tips and inspiring me to jot down my own!

Now I leave you with some subpar dinner photos (the lighting in my house is absolutely awful. I need to figure something out!):

Since chewing hurts right now, I had scrambled eggs with spinach, tomatoes, mushrooms, and green peppers along with a blueberry- cranberry yogurt mess. 🙂

Yes I did make cranberry sauce just for this purpose

and yes I will be repeating this for breakfast in the morning. It was THAT good! 🙂

I also made some cookies for my parents:

The cookies taste better than they look. I promise. 😉

Off to sleep I go! I’m hoping to run tomorrow (swollen cheeks and all!) 😉

What are some of  YOUR healthy habits?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 2:08 am

    This is so inspiring!

  2. janetha permalink
    December 10, 2010 10:30 am

    Great list! I’m so glad to see so many people focusing on good habits. It’s so encouraging. Here’s to a speedy recovery and a great weekend.

  3. December 10, 2010 2:28 pm

    You have great habits! I love seeing other girls in college who do healthy living too because sometimes I feel like I’m the only one (my roommates LEGIT eat taco bell, wendys or chipotle 5/7 days a week lol).
    My healthy habit is that I exercise and eat lots of fruit. I am working on eating my veggies!

    • December 10, 2010 7:27 pm

      My friends eat fast food ALL the time too! I don’t get it! If I did that, I would be the size of a house and always tired!

Leave a Reply

