Skip to content

You’re A Mean One Mr. Doubt

December 11, 2010

“Doubt yourself and you doubt everything you see. Judge yourself and you see judges everywhere. But if you listen to the sound of your own voice, you can rise above doubt and judgement. And you can see forever.” – Nancy Lopez

Doubt. A runner’s biggest enemy. It can creep up at any point and it is an unwelcomed visitor.

Doubt came and decided to stay for a while during my run today. All I had to do was 6.0 miles. Granted this was the longest I’ve run since my 10k a few weeks ago. Granted I’ve been suffering from IT band injuries. But it was only 6.0 miles. I’ve done 10.0!

Doubt. Even though he came, I got him to eventually leave. It was not easy and it took a lot of internal pep talks to myself to get through my run today. But I got it done.

It was a rough run. I had to stop a few times to stretch, stop for traffic, and at one point, to (basically) yell at myself (internally) to get doubt out of my mind. I kept doubting that I would be able to finish my run today and furthermore to finish my half- marathon in a month. But guess what? I finished my run and I WILL finish my half- marathon! Take that Doubt! πŸ˜‰

My alarm went off at 7:45 but my body WOULD NOT GET UP until around 8:30. Ugh…already running late. Once I finally rolled out of bed, I had my pre-run fuel:

I decided that I was going to run the University of Florida campus. I love the campus because it is super pretty, but I forgot how hilly it was. 😦 Hills are what started my IT band pain, but I took it very easy on the inclines. Needless to say my knees do hurt! 😦

I originally parked by the track, Β but right as I was about to start running, two maintenance workers came by with a “No Parking” sign and put it at the entrance of the parking lot. I did not want to risk getting towed, so I drove a mile down the street and parked at Publix. I didn’t get to start running until around 9:45. :/

I know the campus pretty well so I wasn’t afraid of getting lost. I ran by the frat houses, Ben Hill Griffin Stadium, through the center of campus, by Lake Alice– basically I ran everywhere! All in all, a pretty run. But difficult. I’m not happy with my splits. My legs did not want to cooperate today (maybe a little tired from 4.0 miles yesterday?) and my splits are very uneven. 😦

Mile 1: 8:02
Mile 2: 8:26
Mile 3: 8:08
Mile 4: 8:29
Mile 5: 8:39
Mile 6: 9:05 <—an incline for a good .6 of a mile
TOTAL TIME: 50:51 (average pace 8:28)

This pace is pretty slow, even for a “longer” run. I will not let this get me down. Today was definitely a mental test for me, and I made it though. πŸ™‚

After cooling down, icing, and foam rolling, my tummy was hungry! I picked this up at the store yesterday and was eager to try it!

I’ve heard great things about Bob’s Red Mill products!

Since I suck at making pancakes, I enlisted the help of my father to make them for me. πŸ™‚

I halved the recipe on the back and subbed apple sauce for the oil. I also added some blueberries into the mix! πŸ™‚

After a quick cooking, the pancakes were done! πŸ™‚ They were a little thick (my batter was pretty thick) but tasty nevertheless, especially with the strawberries I put on top.

I also had it with an egg white scramble for some protein!

Yummy! My plans for the rest of the day are getting a haircut, buying a Christmas tree, and icing/ relaxing my knees!

Have a super great Saturday! πŸ™‚

P.S.- Look what came up on my Facebook newsfeed last night!

We have a full race folks! πŸ˜‰

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 1:07 pm

    Gluten free pancakes? Sounds great!
    Doubt is definitely hard, but thats great that you powered through your run. The best thing you can do when you are doubting yourself is just do the run! I do remember trying my first 20 miler and FAILING because I got hit by a biker and it was noon on August. I doubted myself for a week after until I did my second 20 miler. But after you complete the run you are doubting, it is amazing πŸ™‚
    Have a great day!

  2. December 11, 2010 3:13 pm

    I’ve never had that mix before – it sounds yummy!
    Nice job on the run, too. You’re a speedy lady πŸ™‚

  3. December 11, 2010 6:12 pm

    I have that pancake mix in my pantry, glad to know it’s a good one! Strawberries make anything tastier, I think πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

