Skip to content

Easy Breezy Beautiful…

December 13, 2010

(Except for the fact that it wasn’t easy!)

Remember earlier how I said that Jacksonville was experiencing 28 mph wind gusts? Well, running in 28 mph wind gusts is quite an experience. If you have never done it, I don’t recommend it unless you want to freeze your butt off and feel like you are running into a brick wall! 😉

I went back and forth deciding whether or not to do my 3 miles before I drove home or after. Eventually I decided to run them before since I like running in Jacksonville a lot better than Gainesville (Gainesville has more “hills” which is no good for my IT bands). I embarked on a 3.0 run that I will not forget!

Armed with a fully charged Garmin, iPod, and running gear (don’t wear shorts like I did! ;)), I was ready to face whatever Mother Nature threw at me. It was cold. It was definitely windy. It was difficult at times. But I made it through. And I did pretty darn well!

During most of my run, I was running into the wind, which at times, made me feel like I wasn’t moving at all! Instead of not moving, I was actually keeping a pretty steady sub 8:00 pace. 🙂 In the end, I felt great! My mile splits were pretty good: 7:30, 7:48, and 8:01 with a a total time of 23:19 meaning an average pace of 7:46! Not too shabby! 😉

Following my run, I packed up my car and headed back to Gainesville, but not before I pick up a (late) lunch:

Luna Protein Bar (Cookie Dough which was very delicious!) I love Luna Bars! I used to eat them a lot in high school for a snack before practice, and I am happy that they are making a comeback in my life. 😉

And a granny smith apple. 🙂

After an hour and a half on the road, I ended up home where I snacked on a few things until dinner.

While waiting for dinner to cook, I constructed a gingerbread house!

Last year I made one for the first time and it ended up being a disaster. The roof collapsed and the walls caved in, so I was determined to redeem myself. 😉

6 Easy Steps To Build Your Masterpiece? Hmmm… I wouldn’t consider my final product a masterpiece, but I’ll let you be the judge. 😉

I had a slight scare when one of the walls started to cave in and the roof started to slide, but I was able to make it work. 🙂

Shortly after I completed my “masterpiece,” dinner was served:

Spaghetti Squash? Yes please! 🙂

Now I’m sippin’ on some peppermint tea, catchin’ up on my blog readin’, and writin’ a post for tomorro’ mornin’. (Whew, that was REAL southern!)

Tomorrow my mom and I leave for Maryland/ DC so I may be a little AWOL tomorrow!

Have a great evening! 🙂

P.S- I know that this is a stretch, but if I have any Maryland/ DC bloggers and/or readers, I would be interested in having a meet up while I’m in the area!

P.P.S- Congratulations to Caitlin on winning $10,000 from Amway Positivity Project! You go girl! 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 11:28 pm

    Love luna protein bars! I’ve used that same gingerbread kit before–ours was a mess because we ran out of the white stuff that holds it t/g! Yours looks good 🙂

  2. squigglefloey permalink
    December 14, 2010 5:02 am

    That GB house is adorbs! Can you eat it when xmas is over? haha

  3. December 14, 2010 11:52 am

    such a cute gingerbread house! You have a fabulous blog and I am your newest follower.

    xo

  4. December 14, 2010 10:22 pm

    I am obsessed with Luna Protein Bars…obsessed.
    And I did that SAME gingerbread house kit with my sister! But I must admit that yours turned out much better…see for yourself
    http://thehealthscript.blogspot.com/2010/11/thanksgiving-break-recap.html

  5. December 15, 2010 5:39 am

    hi I was luck to discover your website in bing
    your post is wonderful
    I learn much in your blog really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you website is really terrific
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

