Skip to content

The Pro’s And Con’s Of…Running

December 14, 2010

This is the first part in a four part series. Over the next few weeks, I will post a new article on Tuesday. This is not meant to be (too) serious, but rather my own opinions and observations about the topic.

I present to you, The Pro’s and Con’s Of…Running

Con’s (Because we always want to hear the bad news before the good! ;))

5) “The Look” we get from people.
I cannot tell you how many weird looks I get from people when I tell them I run. The looks range from utter confusion to envy and everything in between. After “The Look” I often get asked, “So, uh, why do you run? I hate running.” *insert eye roll here*
4) We know more about the weather than the weatherman.
So you have a race coming up in 10 days? It’s time to check the 10-day forecast on weather.com. Oh boy, it’s supposed to rain? Better start praying to the good weather gods for better weather. Something about checking the weather every two hours 10 days prior to the race calms me down. And when people ask me how the weather is going to be on Saturday, I can tell them the high, low, wind chill, humidity, chance of precipitation, and even the sunrise time. Then I get “The Look” from people and they assume I have no life.
3) Some may lose some “goods”
Let me start off by saying that I have always been less endowed um… “up there.” However, since I started running, I have gone down two bra sizes. Since I didn’t have much to start with, it sucks! I take comfort in the fact that not all men are “boob guys.” (Either my dad is laughing right now, or squirming in his seat. Sorry dad! ;))
2) Running and drinking do not mix.
This is a skill takes years to develop, and some never perfect it- the dreaded drinking while running. Personally I’m not AWFUL at taking a cup of water from an aid station and guzzling it down while running, but I have spilled water on myself on a few occasions. Some are better at it than others.
1) Running can be expensive!
When I first started running, I thought it would be an inexpensive hobby. All you need is athletic gear and a pair of shoes right? Boy was I WRONG! One Garmin 305, two pairs of running shoes, three pairs of running pants, four knee braces, and five race registrations later… my “inexpensive hobby” isn’t so inexpensive anymore.

Pro’s

5) We are always challenging ourselves to be better.
Running is mostly an individual sport, so we can set our own personal goals. When we race, it is purely individual (unless you are doing a relay or something of the nature), and it is “you” against everyone else. Everyone is competition, and they are all going DOWN! 🙂
4) There is always someone who is faster than you, but also someone who is slower.
Yeah, you may not win a race, but you sure won’t lose! Take comfort in the fact that there will be people who come in after you. Running and racing isn’t like a middle school basketball tournament where the only thing that matters is who wins. Running races brings personal satisfaction and a feeling of accomplishment when you cross the finish line. And remember, there will always be someone behind you! 😉
3) T-shirts and swag bags.
Come on, everyone loves free stuff… or “free” stuff with our race registration. All those little trial size packets and boxes of cereal, peanut butter and energy bars make any runner’s heart pitter-patter, or is that just me? 😉
2) We can EAT!
When I began running, I was in a rough spot with my relationship with food. As I started training for my half- marathon, I started to develop a better relationship with food. I learned how to fuel my body and started eating real food again.
For longer runs, we need to FUEL up and after long runs, we need to RECOVER. Food always tastes better after a long run, right?
1) We are happier!
Who doesn’t love a good ol’ “runner’s high?” Get those endorphins pumping! 🙂

Hope you enjoyed! Feel free to leave me a comment with your pro’s and con’s of running! 🙂

Come back next week for the second installment of The Pro’s and Con’s Of…

This is the first part in a four part series of The Pro’s and Con’s Of…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Daddy permalink
    December 14, 2010 8:19 pm

    Haha … your Dad is not going to comment on Con #3. However, on Con #1, that is nothing to what I put up with when out throwing the hammer. The questions from the runner-people range from “Shouldn’t you be wearing a kilt?” to “Is that a shot put?”

    At least I have a weapon to retaliate with, which is much more effective than an eye roll 🙂

  2. December 14, 2010 9:57 pm

    Loved this post, Katy!
    It’s always good to weight the Pro’s and Con’s…
    Thanks for sharing, girl 🙂

  3. December 14, 2010 11:47 pm

    I love this! So true, running is such a personal sport – which is great for people like me who are only competitive with themselves.

    Haha on the boob comment – but its better than having some major flopping going on 🙂 And the water thing – it always goes up my nose! I need to start running with a camelbak!

Leave a Reply

