Skip to content

5 in 5

December 15, 2010

5 miles in 5 degree weather. Did I do it? You bet I did! I’ll come back to my run in a minute, but I want to backtrack to yesterday.

I apologize for not posting last night. We stayed at one of my mom’s friend’s house for the night and once I got there, I crashed hard! 14 hours in a car across six states makes for a very tired Katy…but a lot of pictures. 🙂

I was pacing behind this yellow Mustang for at least 10 miles. I felt like I was in a race!


What did I do in the car for all that time? I caught up on my blog reading…

And finished Skinny Bitch

Overall I liked the book! It was pretty informative and was insightful. I pretty much follow a lot of the stuff they talk about (eating clean, etc), but I tell you, I will NEVER eat meat again after reading it! (I’ll post a full review of my thoughts about the book in a few days! :))

We stopped at Cracker Barrel in Wilson, NC at around 6:30 for dinner. I love my Cracker Barrel, but nothing sounded appealing on the menu. 😦 So I opted for a cup of the vegetable soup and a house salad.

I love looking around the store…

I also posted an Operation Beautiful note!

Then we hit the road again, where I took some less than stellar pictures…

Flash forward to this morning…After a good 7 hours of sleep I (reluctantly) checked my phone for the temperature. 5 degrees. 5 DEGREES with the wind chill? You have GOT to be kidding me!?!?!?!

Any normal human being would have rolled over and gone back to sleep, but when you see a sunrise like this, you have to go out!

So I bundled up with 4 layers and braved the elements.

My goal was to finish and not worry about time. It was way too cold to truly bother with splits and I glanced at my Garmin only a couple of times to check my distance. I ran along the side of a country road (not the best for my IT bands but my legs actually have held up pretty well), and I actually wasn’t as cold as I thought I would be.

Yeah the water run off in the gutter was frozen solid and yes I felt like I was choking on my own spit at times, but it could have been worse. Honestly my first 4 miles were great. I kept a pretty good pace (somewhere in the 8:00 range, I was keeping it easy) and I felt strong. The last mile was a little rough not because I was tired, but because the road started going at a slight incline and the wind started picking up, causing me to run right into it.

But I made it in a pretty solid time.

And I feel like a badass! 😉 How many Floridians can say they have run in 5 degree weather?

After a nice, long shower to warm up, my tummy was grumbling for some food! 🙂

I tried a new flavor of Chobani! I seriously have falling in love with Chobani yogurt…if anyone wants to send me a case of these, I would love them forever. 😉

In the mix:
1/2 honeycrisp apple
1/3 cup oats
1/2 container Chobani Pomegranate Greek yogurt
1 T PB

Totally hit the spot! We’ll I’m off to spend the day with my family! 🙂

Have a great Wednesday everyone!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 1:11 pm

    I may know someone who could send you a case… I won’t forget your promise to love me forever though. 😉

    In all seriousness, shoot me an email!

    • December 15, 2010 9:29 pm

      I will definitely be shooting you an e-mail! 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

