Skip to content

Sweet and Spicy

December 16, 2010

Breaks are for experimenting in the kitchen. Sometimes we have flops and sometimes we have successes. I believe tonight was a success! I bring to you not one but two recipes for your viewing pleasure! 🙂

But first things first- dinner! 🙂

I prepped dinner for most of my family tonight!

I made salads…

I made grilled asparagus, tomatoes, and brussels sprouts…

Half of us had grilled cheese the other half ate extra veggies. I had something a little different in mind.

Grilled veggie salad and spicy peanut tofu! 🙂

At Trader Joe’s today I picked up some peanut flour and I wanted to incorporate it into my dinner tonight.

Enter spicy peanut sauce!

Spicy Peanut Tofu (2 servings):

Ingredients:
1/3 block tofu
3 T Peanut Flour
1 tsp Curry Powder
4 T Lemon Juice
3 T Water
1/4 tsp Red Pepper

Directions:
1) Preheat skillet over medium heat.
2) Cut tofu and press out extra water. Place between two plates for 15 minutes.
3) Combine peanut flour, curry powder, lemon juice, water, and red pepper in a bowl. Mix until well combined.

4) Cut tofu into 1 inch blocks and place into pan.

5) Pour peanut sauce over tofu and cook until done (around 5 minutes)

6) Serve with any remaining sauce!

This meal warmed me all the way down to my toes… oh wait…. never mind, that’s my feet warmer. 😉

(Isn’t my aunt’s dog adorable? ;))

After dinner, I assembled the ingredients for my second kitchen success of the night. Chocolate bark! It’s super easy to make and only requires four ingredients!

Cranberry Almond White Chocolate Swirl Holiday Bark
Ingredients:
1 bag of white chocolate chips (I used a 10 oz bag)
1 bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used a 12 oz bag)
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/3 cup crushed almonds

Directions:

1) Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.
2) In separate microwavable bowls, melt chocolate until smooth (around 1:30 each).
3) Pour chocolate side by side onto baking sheet.
4) Using a butter knife, gently swirl chocolate into each other.
5) Sprinkle crushed almonds and cranberries onto chocolate.
6) Put into freezer for 30 minutes- 1 hour, or until hard set.
7) Break into chunky pieces.

I made some for my partner in the blogger gift exchange! 🙂 Your package is being sent tomorrow! 😉 Sorry for the delay!

I have a long day tomorrow so I’m hitting the sack! Night all!

P.S- I apologize for some of the weird formatting issues in this post. I have no idea what is going on! 😦

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 12:11 am

    That bark looks incredible! Super creative and festive 🙂

  2. December 17, 2010 12:25 am

    Oh Yum!!! I love peanut tofu~

  3. December 17, 2010 1:18 am

    Great recipe.. love the pictures

  4. December 17, 2010 2:10 am

    Dang, that tofu looks awesome! I wish I had a TJ’s near me so I could pick up some peanut flour. One day! And since I have all the ingredients in my house already, I might have to try your bark sometime soon.

  5. December 17, 2010 5:32 am

    The peanut tofu looks amazing! I have never thought of using peanut flour that way before. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. December 17, 2010 8:31 am

    I am not a regular tofu eater, but yours looks delicious! (So does that bark! yum!)

Leave a Reply

