Skip to content

George Washington University Visit

December 17, 2010

Let the graduate school search begin!

As you should (hopefully!) know by now, I am pursing a BFA in Music Theatre with a double minor in Marketing and Communications. I have the opportunity to graduate with my bachelors degree a semester early if I drop a minor, so I am looking at graduate schools now. I believe that you can never be too early. Heck, I started looking at undergraduate schools the summer after my sophomore year of high school.

I am looking at definitely pursing a Master’s in Public Health but I am unsure if I want to do a specialization in Public Health Marketing and Communications or Nutrition. If I do nutrition, I have a LOT of pre-reqs I would have to complete before starting my master’s which would mean I would have to stay in Jacksonville next spring and take classes at the other universities in the area. So I have a lot to think about, but I am excited about what the future holds!

Oh, and speaking of school, my grades were finally posted. I’m pretty much happy with them… except for the ‘B’ in Newswriting!

Today I hopped on the Metro train at 11:15 and made my way over to The George Washington University campus. I got there a little early for my tour (okay, 40 minutes early. But I wanted to make sure I got there in plenty of time!), so I walked over to Starbucks and got a Peppermint Mocha! My first (and probably last) of the season!

The tour lasted a little over an hour and was led by a current graduate student. What is interesting about the GWU campus is that it is right in the middle of DC (Pennsylvania Avenue is literally within walking distance!). The campus buildings are mixed in with other buildings in the area, which I absolutely love!

I am such a city girl, and honestly, DC is the place where I feel I belong. I am truly at ease in the city and my heart (and gut) are telling me that DC is the place for me in the long run. Whether or not I end up there for graduate school is up in the air, but I would love to definitely live there for awhile. 🙂

1

After the tour, I was STARVING! I ended up picking up a Mediterranean Sampler Salad at The Perfect Pita!

Directly from the website: “A combination of tabouli, hummus and white bean salad, all on a bed of mixed greens served with our Perfect Pita.”

It was pretty delicious and filling! I could only eat half!

Once I was done with lunch, I headed back to the Metro and made my way back to my aunt’s house. But I left a very special note on the Metro train before leaving…

I relaxed for a little and caught up on my blog reading (I won a contest over on meals and moves!).

This is the first time I have ever won something! Woo!!! 🙂

Then I ran errands for the remainder of the evening- one of which included going to Best Buy and looking at video cameras for my cousin. Of course I wandered over to the D-SLR’s and took a peak. 😉

Everyone else had Panera for dinner, but I didn’t want to eat anything rough on my stomach so I made a tuna wrap at the house.

I’m off to sleep! I have a 10K in the morning!!! 🙂

Night!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2010 9:27 am

    My sister is in the School of Public Health at UNC and her degree will be an MHA (Master’s of Hospital Administration). Such a great field that I wish I knew about when I was in college. She really likes it. But DC is awesome.

  2. December 18, 2010 10:08 am

    Wish you luck on choosing the right university, girl!
    Delicious eats, as always.
    And how lovely was that Operation Beautiful note 🙂

  3. December 18, 2010 11:34 am

    Nice grades!
    And good luck on the 10k! I bet you rocked it!

  4. December 18, 2010 2:58 pm

    WHOOO for the A’s (and the B too – B’s are better than we seem to think, haha!) I’m looking at grad schools too and I’m super scared. I’m in the same nutrition boat – my English/Elementary Education degrees don’t have a single thing to do with it and I dont even know where I’d go about working on the pre-req’s…but I do know that this is a passion of mine and I’d love to have a career in it…gah!

  5. December 18, 2010 8:48 pm

    My boyfriend goes to GWU for grad school and loves it! It was fun to see your pictures. Perfect Pita is one of my favorites, as is Tonic!!! I think Tonic has become our go to in the Foggy Bottom area. If you have time stop by Founding Farmers for brunch (or any meal). It is delicious!!

    Also, I was the same way with both college and grad school. I started looking way too early, went to a school I stayed at for a year before transferring, then pursued an accelerated degree at a school I would never have imagined even applying to. I would never ever have guessed I would be where I am today in college. Just remember, things happen for a reason!

    Glad you are having fun in DC and congrats on your grades!!

    • December 18, 2010 9:27 pm

      I saw Founding Farmers and really wanted to go! Maybe my mom and I will go before we head back to Florida late next week!

      Thanks for the tips! 🙂

Leave a Reply

