Skip to content

2010 PVTC Christmas Caper 10K

December 18, 2010

“Nothing splendid has ever been achieved except by those who dared believe that something inside them was superior to circumstances.” -Bruce Barton

This morning I ran the 2010 PVTC Christmas Caper 10k at Hains Point in Washington, DC. It was a small local race (limited to 300 for both the 5k and 10k combined) with a race course overlooking a (very frozen) Potomac River. The course was full of snow, ice, and a few spills and chills.

I got up at 5:50 and scarfed down my usual pre-run fuel.

(Obviously taking pictures that early isn’t my expertise ;))

My mom and I then made the 30 minute drive to the park. We arrived at around 7:15, where there were plenty of runners around! πŸ™‚

Check in was quick and painless (all I had to do with pick up a race number- no tees since it was a low cost race!). I stood around for awhile and looked at the frozen river, wondering what I got myself into.

But I knew that I could do this! πŸ™‚

I was shooting for a 51 minute 10k, but knew that it would be a challenge given the course.

The course was changed from previous races they have done at this location. Apparently the old course went around the park, but new rules forced the race organizers to change the course. It was a basic down and back 3 miles…which the 10k-er’s took twice.

The 5k race (which a majority of the runners did, there were very few 10k runners!) started a few minutes before the 10k.

At 8 o’clock on the dot, we were off!

The course was incredibly icy! It was unbelievable! I know that there wasn’t much the race organizers could do, but it was really scary at some points. In many parts of the road, it was actually better to run on the snow, which I did, but it killed my time. I couldn’t keep a good steady pace because I was constantly dodging ice patches.

Coming in at the 1 mile marker I was only a few seconds behind my intended pace but I kept getting slower and slower as the race progressed. During mile 3, I realized I was way off my 51 minute goal time, so I told myself “Just finish the race and don’t slip and fall! Don’t be a hero Katy! Be safe.”

I saw my mother at around mile 3!

I got water at the aid station, which I promptly proceeded to spill all over myself. 😦

(Yikes! Look at that heel strike! I have GOT to change my running form!)

At the turn around point at around mile 4 (second time going through the course), there was an EXTREME buildup of ice in the tight area to turn around. Naturally, me being me, I would slip and FALL on my hip! Lucky for me it didn’t hurt too bad, and I even got a good laugh out of it. I told the race organizer at the marker that I was from Florida, so ice and snow are foreign objects to me! He had a good laugh. πŸ˜‰

Santa and one of his elves were spotted on the course!

This race was extremely demanding on me physically. Not as much mentally because I realized early on that there was no way I was going to finish in my goal time, but physically, I am HURTING. At mile 4, my right IT band tightened up so I had to stop for a few seconds to stretch (the only time I stopped!) My knees held up pretty well during the race, which was great, but my legs were tired as I approached the finish.

52:12 (unofficial time)! A new PR!!! Not the time I wanted, but I’ll get it eventually!

My official time is 52:23. I was the 11th female finisher out of 48 and the 43rd finisher overall out of 109 total. πŸ™‚

Yes the course was a little short, but since my other 10k was long, I think it evens out. πŸ˜‰

Race Splits:

Mile 1: 8:17
Mile 2: 8:42
Mile 3: 8:25
Mile 4: 8:25
Mile 5: 8:52
Mile 6: 8:28
.13 end: 1:00
Total Time: 52:12 (average pace 8:31)

After the race, I was determined to do 2.0 more miles to make it around an 8 mile day, however after the race my IT bands were SCREAMING at me in pain! 😦 I believe that I unintentionally changed my running stride to compensate for the ice and snow. After the race I ended up doing a very very very slow 1.38 making my total milage for the day 7.51. Close enough for me.

Once I made it back to the house I showered and made breakfast:

In the mix:

1/4 cup cooked multi-grain oatmeal
1 container of plain Greek yogurt (no Chobani…they didn’t have any at Trader Joe’s :()
Dried cranberries
Small handful of Trader Joe’s Country Pumpkin Spice Granola
Handful of almonds
1 T Trader Joe’s Cranberry Apple Butter

Along with an apple!

I’m off to relax and ice my IT bands! (Maybe take a nap…people say I look exhausted…which is a pet peeve of mine! Don’t tell me I look tired. I know I do! Grrr! ;))

Happy Saturday!


11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2010 1:30 pm

    Congrats on the race! I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to run in the snow – not only would I fall and bust something but I’d be miserably freezing for the whole thing! I’m such a hot house plant, lol. You did awesome, though, and enjoy the accomplishment!!!

  2. December 18, 2010 1:50 pm

    Awesome job Katy! I can’t even imagine running on ice… I think it’s so great that you made the decision to make safety your priority…AND you still PR’d! Congrats!

  3. December 18, 2010 2:05 pm

    Great race!! PR!!!!! Way to go. I live in Michigan so ice is usually always present during the winter months. It’s no fun, that is for sure!

  4. set2music permalink
    December 18, 2010 5:51 pm

    OMG, congrats. I did that course back in October so I am familiar with it, but I honestly have to say that I think I would have opted out with all that ICE! You rock for not only sticking with it, but a new PR?! You are a superhero!!!!! =D

  5. December 18, 2010 7:50 pm

    GREAT job love!! I hope you give yourself a treat after that amazing race! Hahah I hate when ppl tell me i look tired too!

  6. December 18, 2010 8:39 pm

    Congrats on your race!! Hains Point is hard because there is nothing really to look at and can get narrow. The course was pretty tough last weekend in the rain, I can’t even begin to imagine how the snow affected the course! Good job on your PR! That is really tough in those conditions!

  7. December 18, 2010 9:10 pm

    Congrats on the race results, girl!
    Too bad you were in pain, though :/
    Hope you’re feeling better!

  8. December 19, 2010 10:37 am

    Great job! I have never run in the snow. I’d like to try it.

  9. December 19, 2010 2:30 pm

    That is awesome, congrats! I have never run in conditions like that, probably not even a real exercise walk in that either. That’s cool that you can see your heel strike in the picture, at least you know now!

  10. December 19, 2010 10:23 pm

    Wow, Katy, I cant even FATHOM a training run on ice/snow no less a race!! Good for you for taking it a bit easy though. Did you just run in regular shoes or did you have extra traction? Here in Nebraska, I am thinking I have many treadmill days ahead unless I can brave the road conditions =)

    • December 19, 2010 10:53 pm

      I just ran in my regular running shoes. They are fairly new (I started wearing them a few weeks ago) so the traction isn’t too worn down yet. But man oh man, I could have used extra traction!

Leave a Reply

