Skip to content

No Pain, No Gain

December 19, 2010

“Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.” – Lance Armstrong

Ouch!

That was my first thought when I woke up this morning. Man am I sore. My groin hurts probably because I had to change my stride so drastically yesterday and (of course) my knees hurt. However the pain with my knee is different. It hurts in the normal spot- on the side where the IT band connects, but it is more of a soreness verses a tightness. I’m hoping that as the day progresses the pain minimizes, but I am not a happy camper. Looking back, I probably should have opted out of the race yesterday- maybe I wouldn’t be like this. Oh well, you can’t change the past!

Moving forward, I woke up at 8:30 charged and refreshed. I haven’t gotten much sleep lately because things have been CRAZY and absolute CHAOS at my aunt’s house. There is so much to unpack and sort through, and honestly, it is a bit stressful. I think baking with my cousin today will be the perfect stress reliever!

This morning I made a new breakfast: Peanut Butter Oats and Jelly Yogurt Bowl.

Ingredients (2 servings):
2/3 cup oats
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup almond milk (add more or less depending on how thick you want your oatmeal- I like my a little thicker)
3 T peanut flour (or 2 T peanut butter)
1 cup plain or vanilla yogurt
1.5 T your favorite jelly,  jam, or fruit butter
Toppings of choice (granola, cranberries, almonds, etc.)

Directions:
1) In a small sauce pan, bring water to boil.
2) Add oats and cook until done.
3) Remove from heat and add almond milk and peanut flour. Stir until well combined.
4) Transfer oats into a bowl.
5) Lightly mix together yogurt and jelly. Do not over mix or you won’t get a pretty swirl! 😉
6) Add yogurt on top of oats.
7) Sprinkle toppings on top!

Definitely filled me up!

I’m off to go to the store! I’m also hoping to hit the gym today if my soreness diminishes.

Have a great and relaxing Sunday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2010 10:36 am

    I hope you feel better soon! My knees usually hurt after a long run, but icing seems to really help.

  2. December 19, 2010 11:25 am

    I love your inspiring quotes at the beginning of each post, especially this one! Hope you feel better asap so you can enjoy the break and the holiday!

Leave a Reply

