Skip to content

Bug-Eyed

December 20, 2010
tags: ,

Evening everyone! Hope everyone had a great Monday! 🙂 Christmas is rapidly approaching, and I am taking full advantage of my break. I felt like I did NOTHING today, but in actuality, I accomplished a lot since my post this morning. I spent the majority of the day researching graduate schools. I stared at my laptop screen for hours today reading about master’s programs, comparing schools, and figuring out costs.

While doing all the research excites me, it also terrifies and frustrates me. I am excited to possibly go into a new direction but at the same time, it scares me. It’s such a big change and I truly need to figure out if I want to go into nutrition in the long run. I’m also frustrated because I have to fulfill a lot of pre-requisite courses for the programs and I do not have to take them for my current undergraduate degree. This means that I have to take additional courses on top of an already heavy course load (I’m taking 20 credits next semester plus an additional 3 for a spring break abroad trip). Lot’s to think about in the next few weeks!

Moving right along… lunch today was simple but delicious:

I had a tuna salad sandwich (mixed with hummus) on Ezekiel bread

A salad

And a granny smith apple (which I had two bites of and threw away. It wasn’t very good :()

After lunch I played “mom” for a little bit by picking up my cousin from school and running a few errands for my aunt. Then I did a few things around the house and before I knew it, it was 8:30!

I wasn’t too hungry at this point, but I needed to eat:

I cooked some tofu in extra virgin olive oil and pepper and put it on top of a spinach salad with tomatoes, carrots, and mushrooms. I also had half a crab cake my mom brought me home after having lunch with a friend. You can’t go to Maryland without having a little crab! 😉

Tomorrow I have a busy busy day ahead of me! My cousin has a performance at her school at 10, then I need to hit the gym, and finally we are getting together with my other aunt for dinner/ gift exchange!

Have a lovely evening and a great Tuesday! 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2010 10:57 pm

    I haven’t read your blog enough to know, so I apologize but what do you want to go to grad school for?

    I know how it feels to have a daunting amount of prereqs to take, but…if its a program you really want to do then it’s definitely worth it!

    • December 21, 2010 10:57 am

      I want to go to grad school for Nutrition. I’m looking specifically at programs that meet the requirements to become a registered dietition.

  2. December 21, 2010 8:32 am

    I hate when an apple looks good but doesn’t taste great.

    Maybe taking some of those prereqs will help you decide whether or not you want to go into nutrition in the long run. I know certain classes that I have taken have made me say, “I will definitely *never* do this for a living!” or “Man, I love this!”

    My race is in Jax. It’s the 26.2 with Donna race. I’m so excited! But I hear it is a HUGE race. For the sake of not having to fight traffic, we plan to stay in a nearby hotel the night before the race. I would love to meet up! If I recall correctly, you are coming down for the Disney race, right? That is in my neck of the woods… do you know if they let people come and cheer without having to purchase tickets for the park? If so, I’m there!

    • December 21, 2010 3:50 pm

      That’s a good idea! Traffic is going to be CRAZY that day! I’ll look at the race course and figure out a good spot to watch/ cheer!

      Yes, I will be down in Disney for the half-marathon on Saturday January 8th. I don’t believe that you have to have tickets to watch the race….there is a whole guide on the rundisney website with all sorts of viewing points. I’ll shoot you an e-mail with more details! I’m sure we can work something out! 😉

Leave a Reply

