Skip to content

Running Is My Therapy

December 21, 2010
tags:

Fact. Running 5 miles when you are frustrated and/or angry WILL make you run faster. (Well, at least for me)

I was planning on going to a gym after this morning’s post. When I got to the (24 hour!) gym, it was closed. How is a 24 hour gym closed? Really? Explain that to me.

Anyway, the gym was a no-go so I resigned myself to running in my aunt’s neighborhood. I really didn’t want to go. It is cold, the neighborhood is very hilly, and for once in my life, I actually wanted to run on a treadmill. *sigh*

When I began my run I was super angry. And stressed. And frustrated. Not just about the gym being closed but with other personal matters going on in my life right now. So I ran. And ran. And ran. I ran up hills, down hills, around snow and ice…I zoned out and before I knew it, I had already pounded out 2 miles- and I was going fast. Too fast for a five mile run. I slowed my pace down a little and kept running.

When my Garmin beeped for the 5 mile lap I took a double take- 40:29 (8:06 pace). Really? That’s the fastest I have ever ran 5 miles (okay, by a second, but still!). I haven’t ran 5 miles that fast since November 9th- prior to my injury. And at the end of my run- I didn’t feel like I was going to die. I actually felt great physically and mentally! How’s that for therapy? 😉

I didn’t get back from my run until 2, and I had a lot to do before going over to my other aunt’s house for dinner. I made a quick lunch that would hold me over for a few hours, while I made some chocolate bark for later. 😉

I mixed equal parts peanut flour and water (2 T each) and spread it on a Thomas Bagel Thin with a honeycrisp apple.

I also had a carrot and a Peppermint Delight Cookie I received in the mail yesterday from Heather! 🙂 I won them in the Holiday Bake Sale Tina hosted a few weeks ago! The cookies are delicious Heather! 😉

I’m off to get ready for dinner with my aunt! Hopefully I will have a lot of pictures from tonight’s festivities! 😉

Have a great evening! 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 4:56 pm

    I’d be mad that the 24-hour gym was closed, too. Guess they need to work on their marketing!

  2. December 21, 2010 8:05 pm

    way to go on your run, that’ super fast!

Trackbacks

  1. Cupcake Wars and Road Trips « The Singing Runner

Leave a Reply

