Skip to content

A Day in Washington DC

December 22, 2010

Do you have a place where you feel perfectly comfortable and completely in your element? For some people it may be their hometown; for others it is doing an activity they love to do.

My place is Washington, DC.

No matter how many times I come here (I’ve been here 3 times this year alone!), I never get tired of it. I know how to get around the city without a Metro train map. I know many of the shortcuts to get places and every single time I come here, I get lost less and less (actually I didn’t get lost at all today!).

This is my happy place. My home away from home. My city. 🙂

Ok, anyway, enough with being all dramatic! I can’t wait to tell you about my day!

I made it to The Mall just after 10 am, having NO idea what I wanted to do. I walked around for a little (The Mall was dead! I’ve never seen it so quiet- usually I’m having to weave through people!) and took in the scenery.

I eventually stumbled my way into the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum. This is a favorite of mine, but I haven’t gone in awhile.

I mostly looked around the space exhibits, since I am a space nerd. 😉

I stuck around for a little less than an hour and a half. The museum hasn’t changed too much since I came a few years ago.

My tummy started growling, so it was time for lunch! Lucky for me, as I was looking on my phone for a place to go, I received a comment from Faith suggesting I check out a place called Busboys and Poets. After a quick glance at their website, I decided it was the perfect place for me!

Before I headed out of the museum I checked out the junk museum store for some souvenirs, but found nothing.

Anyone ever buy this as a kid? I used to be addicted to the stuff!!!

I hopped on the Metro and made my way to the restaurant. Of course, I WOULD pick one of the worst stops to get off on. (Word of advice, if you go to DC, avoid the Chinatown Metro stop. The area isn’t the best. 😉 There was a better Metro stop I should have gotten off on, but I didn’t. Oh well, it was an experience. ;))

Busboys and Poets is a restaurant like no other I have ever gone to! The place was hip and cool and had a very vegetarian and vegan friendly menu! Everything looked DELICIOUS! 🙂

After much deliberation, I decided to get the Tempeh Panini with a salad. There are only four words to describe this sandwich…

OH.

MY.

GOODNESS.

YUM.

I think it’s safe to say that I liked it. 😉 Busboys and Poets has three different locations in the area, so if you are up in DC, go check them out! It’s amazing! I will be going again on my next visit! Thank you Faith for making such a great suggestion! I owe you. 🙂

Oh, and my favorite part of the day came during my visit at Busboys and Poets. I was sitting at the bar 😉 and taking pictures of my lunch when the Maitre D’ comes over and asks if I am a food critic for The Washington Post. I smiled at him and said no, that it is for my own personal blog, but maybe one day I will be. 😉 I wish I had a business card to give him with my website on it (must get on this!).

After lunch I made my way over to the Georgetown District to do some shopping! 🙂

I love Georgetown! It’s a pretty area with TONS of great shopping. I headed over to H&M (one of my favorite stores!) to look for some new clothes.

I didn’t really like anything. Nothing was hitting me right. 😦 Oh well, I got a cute hat for $5. 🙂

One of my favorite parts of the day was buying cupcakes!!! If you watch TLC there is a show called DC Cupcakes. The show is about two women and their cupcake shop in the Georgetown District of DC. I love the show and I find it funny! Anyway, since I was in the neighborhood, I decided to stop by Georgetown Cupcake and see what all the hype was about!

Apparently the hype is big because I had to wait outside in line for 20 minutes!!!

The shop is absolutely ADORABLE and the cupcakes look so perfect in the display case! The atmosphere was lively and happy! I ended up getting six different flavors of cupcakes to share with my family. Tonight we are going to have a “cupcake war” and decide which one we like best! 😉

I’ll have a full recap later of which cupcake tops them all! 😉

What a great day! I don’t want to head back to Florida tomorrow! 😦

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 8:03 pm

    I’m sad you are leaving – next time we should meet up!
    Busboys is one of my favorite restaurants in the city, and I’ve had the tempeh sandwich – to die for.

  2. December 22, 2010 11:28 pm

    Katy!! Thank you SOOO much for the blogger exchange gift. It was PERFECT and I have been wearing it ever since I got it!! The Bark is amazing too–SOOO yummy. No moderation happening over here! Your blog is SO great, food blogging is super time consuming and fun, good for you–those cupcakes look great! I have never been to DC, it would be SO fun…Have a wonderful holiday, I look forward to reading more and talking more! Blessings! MARY

  3. December 23, 2010 6:20 am

    Yay cupcakes wars are always fun 🙂

  4. December 23, 2010 8:25 am

    What a fun looking day! Love the DC photos and seeing your adventures – I’ve done almost all of those things myself! Cute dresses, too – I like the blue one with the black belt 🙂

    Oh and next time, go to Baked & Wired cupcake shop in Georgetown instead of Georgetown Cupcake – it’s way more delicious and with much less hype/crowd.

    Happy holidays!

  5. December 23, 2010 9:26 am

    You got a lot done yesterday! Busboys is a great restaurant!! I have only been there once, but loved it! Also, Georgetown Cupcakes?!?! Sooo good.

    As someone who lives here, DC never gets old!

  6. Hotchick permalink
    December 23, 2010 12:06 pm

    Just added your blog to my faves! Likin’ your posts, keep it up =)

Leave a Reply

