Skip to content

Cupcake Wars and Road Trips

December 23, 2010

(FYI: Don’t advertise “free wi-fi” if you don’t have it. I cannot tell you how many places we stopped at with this so called “free wi-fi” until I finally got it! That’s like a 24-hour gym being closed…. Oh wait. ;))

Happy Christmas Eve Eve! 🙂

Hope everyone is getting ready for the holiday weekend. I am currently en route back home to Florida, just in time to spend Christmas with my dad. 🙂

Let’s recap to last night shall we?

Dinner last night was made by my aunt. She made three lovely quiches (which I couldn’t get pictures of because my family already cut them!). One was a spinach, bacon, and onion, another was a mushroom and bacon, and the third was crab. Normally I’m not a big quiche person (not a fan of the texture), but I figured I should try the crab one- besides, I am not one to turn down crab. 😉

The quiche was delicious! My aunt truly outdid herself. 🙂 She also made some roasted veggies which were to die for (I came back for seconds!)

Yesterday while I was out I picked up six cupcakes from Georgetown Cupcakes in the Georgetown District of Washington, DC. I brought them back to the house and they were all cute in their pink packing box:

But when I opened the box I was shocked!

Cupcake meltdown! 😦 I don’t blame the bakery for the mess. I blame it on the mile long walk back to the Metro station, the stop at Trader Joes, the two train transfers, and the hour-long train-commute for the mess.

Besides messy and all they still taste the same right?

(From L-R: Top row- Cookies and Crème, Lemon Berry, Gingerbread. Bottom row- Chocolate Ganache, White Chocolate Peppermint, Rudolph Red Velvet)

I set up a tasting plate and we had our own “cupcake wars” to determine which one we liked the best:

I read out a description of each flavor as we tested it.

The competition was stiff, but only one flavor could reign supreme!

The winner was Lemon Berry! We didn’t have a second place but a three-way tie for third- Gingerbread, Cookies and Crème, and Rudolph Red Velvet.

My favorite was the Lemon Berry, then Cookies and Crème, with Gingerbread coming in third.

I was disappointed with the red velvet since that is what they are famous for. It was a bit dry for my taste (maybe I got a “bad” one?). Overall the cupcakes were delicious!

Also during the evening festivities we opened some more gifts. The only reason why we are opening gifts early is because we won’t be around each other on Christmas day and we wanted to see each other’s reactions!

I gave my cousin a very special book that I hold near and dear to my heart, Operation Beautiful.

In the book, I put a few notes for my cousin to find when she reads it. 😉

I wish I had this book in high school because I think it really would have helped me. I am so glad that I was able to give it to her, especially since she had never heard of it! Once I explained it to her, she couldn’t wait to read the book and start leaving notes around her school. 🙂

Oh, and P.S.- I haven’t forgotten about my challenge! I’ve taken most of the photos on my phone and need to transfer the pictures to my computer.

The evening was a perfect way to spend my last night in Maryland. 🙂

This morning my mom and I woke up at 7:15 to pack up and hit the road. I had a quick breakfast with what I could find.

In the mix:

  • 1 container TJ’s Plain Greek Yogurt (TJ’s was great but I can’t wait for my Chobani again!)
  • 1/4 c. pomegranate arils
  • 1/4 c. multi-grain oats
  • 1 heaping T of Tj’s Cranberry Apple Butter

This fueled me until we stopped for lunch at Ruby Tuesday in North Carolina. I was seriously CRAVING a salad and I love their salad bar. I helped myself to not one…

But two salads. 🙂

Half a biscuit.

And a heaping spoonful of PB in the car.

On the road again….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2010 6:17 pm

    The cupcakes look freakin awesome. I LOVE anything with ganache, so i’ll pick that one..hehehe 🙂

  2. December 23, 2010 9:03 pm

    Love that you put notes in the OB book 🙂

    Merry Christmas!

  3. December 23, 2010 10:41 pm

    i LOVE rubys salad bar! YUM!

  4. December 24, 2010 7:13 am

    Love the sound of the gignerbread, and white chocolate peppermint cupcakes. They still looked pretty even after their long joruney!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

