Skip to content

A Very Merry 10 Miles

December 25, 2010

“You have to have a dream so you can get up in the morning.” – Billy Wilder

Merry Christmas Everyone! I hope everyone is enjoying their day and soaking in all of the holiday cheer!

This morning I started Christmas a little early, with a 10 mile run. This is my last longer run before Disney in 2 WEEKS! I can’t believe the race is coming up so soon!

I woke up at 6:30 and ate my usual pre- run fuel:

I packed up my fuel belt, hopped into my car and headed over to the University of Florida to do a loop around campus. My original plan was to do a 5-mile loop back to my car to rehydrate and fuel up, but I later changed my mind (which I will elaborate on in a minute.)

It was around 7:15 when I arrived on campus. The roads were DEAD! By dead I mean I only passed four cars on the way and they were all police cruisers. Guess no one goes out before the sun on Christmas. πŸ˜‰

Once I arrived on campus, I made a “hydration station” in my trunk- basically I poured two paper cups of water to make drinking a little easier and quicker for me. As I was doing this a police officer pulled up beside me (uh oh!). He asked me if I was lost to which I politely answered no, but that I was going out for a run. He looked a little taken aback and wished me a Merry Christmas. What, you don’t do a 10 mile run at 7:30 Christmas morning? πŸ˜‰

I started off on my 5 mile loop around campus. The UF campus is actually pretty hilly, which kicked my butt. During the entire first 5 mile loop I couldn’t seem to get a good tempo and pace. It was pretty frustrating. After the first loop I hydrated and took a GU.

I’ve never had GU on a run before, but I wanted to test it before my race. I know some people who say GU can be rough on their stomach, which concerned me. But I didn’t have any problems! πŸ™‚ The strawberry banana flavor was pretty good! My only issue with the gel (and I figure this will go with any brand) is the texture. I felt like I was swallowing mucus! (Sorry to be gross.) I downed it with a cup of water and took it like a champ. πŸ˜‰

As I started on my second loop, I decided that I REALLY did not want to go through the entire loop again. At the 4 mile mark of the course, there is a pretty steep hill that is difficult on my knees. So I decided to run 7.5 miles out and then turn around and head back to my car. This proved to be a good decision since my knees started to hurt a little at the 9.5 mile mark. My knees have actually held up pretty good this week and my knee pain has reduced as the day progresses! πŸ™‚

Overall I am pleased with the run. I came in 2 minutes slower than my previous 10 miler but this run had a lot more hills and inclines, whereas my other 10 miler was completely flat.

Splits:

Mile 1: 8:12
Mile 2: 8:26
Mile 3: 8:31
Mile 4: 8:36
Mile 5: 9:05 <—GU and rehydration
Mile 6: 8:52
Mile 7: 9:10
Mile 8: 9:06
Mile 9: 9:24
Mile 10: 9:07
TOTAL: 1:28:35 (8:51 pace)

Lot’s of 9:00 miles in there which is not like me at all, but I still came in under 90 minutes so I’ll take it. πŸ™‚

After stretching and showering, I made a Christmas inspired breakfast:

In the mix:

  • 1 container plain Chobani yogurt
  • 1/4 c. multi-grain oats
  • 1 T cocoa powder
  • 1 crushed mini candy cane

I also had a fruit burrito with blueberries, blackberries, TJ’s Cranberry Apple Butter, and half of a whole wheat wrap.

After breakfast my parents and I opened presents! I had already recieved my two big presents- my Garmin and a food processor, but I got a few smaller, running related items. I’ll share them in the next post. πŸ™‚

The rest of the day has been spent relaxing and eating a small lunch:

A PB and Grilled Banana Sandwich ( 1 slice Ezekiel bread, 1/2 banana, and 2 T TJ’s Peanut Flour mixed with water) with carrots and celery.

So yummy!

Later my parents and I are going to get Chinese food (a family tradition) and then look at the Christmas lights around town!

I hope everyone has had a lovely and blessed Christmas! πŸ™‚

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 25, 2010 4:10 pm

    My husband and I just completed our first 5k this year so running 10 miles wasn’t really part of our Christmas morning this year, haha. But super kudos to you for being dedicated! Enjoy your Chinese food! πŸ™‚

  2. December 25, 2010 5:14 pm

    Lovely Christmas gifts!

    Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  3. December 25, 2010 7:40 pm

    Thanks for your comment on my 20 miler! Great job on your 10!! You’ll do great on your half! Disney is supposed to be awesome. I’d like to do that one someday. Enjoy your race and I’ll be looking forward to your recap!

  4. December 25, 2010 10:46 pm

    Merry xmas πŸ™‚ Great job on running 10 miles on XMAS! Girl, you are going to own the half!

  5. December 26, 2010 4:56 am

    Wow well done for getting out there on christmas day:)
    If there were safe pavements (eg no thick ice) then I might have squeezed in a short run in the morning, but not ten miles!

    • December 26, 2010 9:56 pm

      Running in the ice and snow is no FUN! I did that last week! Ughhh…never again… well at least for awhile. πŸ˜‰

  6. December 26, 2010 6:42 pm

    Really awesome and way to go on 10! 2 weeks will be here soon! And good luck with moving to WordPress. I don’t have any tips, just kind of play around until something works and google when it doesn’t.

Trackbacks

  1. Keeping the Christmas Spirit Alive « The Singing Runner
  2. Keeping the Christmas Spirit Alive | The Singing Runner

Leave a Reply

