Skip to content

Technological Meltdown

December 28, 2010
tags: ,

Houston, we have a problem…

Ugh! That’s the best way I can describe the remainder of my day. I try to keep things pretty positive on here, but I can’t lie and say today was a bowl of cherries. Because it wasn’t.

I spent over ten hours glued to the computer.ย Yes, you read that correctly… TEN hours! And I have nothing to show for it. Except for this lovely screen…

Here’s the deal…moving from a hosted site on wordpress.com to a self- hosted on wordpress.org is a lot more difficult than I thought it would be. I am pretty sure I am doing things correctly, but I kept getting kicked out of wordpress.org and back to this default screen. And it’s not just my computer. It’s doing the same thing on my Dad and Mom’s laptop and I have tried three different browsers (Safari, Firefox, and Internet Explorer 8). I believe part of the issue may be with BlueHost, my web host. It’s really frustrating and I’m concerned that it will be a continuous problem- and of course, tech support was no help. Thank goodness for a 30 day money back guarantee! Has anyone had experience with BlueHost? They came highly recommended, but if the problem is on their end, I want to get my money back and find a different host immediately!

Remember that “to-do” list I had to do? I only accomplished half of it. I never got to meet up with my friends because of this headache of a problem. Sure, I could have taken a few hours away from the computer, but I am such a perfectionist that I couldn’t peel myself away from the screen. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Ok, enough of me complaining, because I’m sure that is the last thing you want to read at close to midnight! ๐Ÿ˜‰

This afternoon I went on a 3.0 mile run around the neighborhood (23:26, 7:49 pace). It was a little chilly and gusty, but nothing compared to the chill I was running in up in Maryland. I kept a pretty steady pace throughout the run, but I had to stop at around mile 2 because I developed a stitch in my side. I don’t get these too often, but I guess I was pretty dehydrated. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I will admit that I haven’t been drinking as much water as I should since returning to Florida.

The highlight of my day came in the form of this little guy…

Meet Sam. This little guy was wandering loose around the neighborhood and decided to follow me home on my run. I didn’t see his owners around anywhere, but lucky for us (and him) he had a collar with a microchip number. A quick call to the 1-800 number and we were able to get Sam’s home information and get him back to his owner. Apparently Sam likes to wander the neighborhood often because the customer service representative says they get a call about him at least once a week. Sam is quite the adventurer. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Lunch this afternoon was light with a mixed green salad with sesame garlic tempeh and a whole lemon for a dressing. ๐Ÿ™‚

After lunch, I spent most of my time hitting, crying over, yelling at, staring at the computer. When dinner time came around, I really wasn’t too hungry, so I opted to eat a little later and made another salad.

I don’t know if this is my body’s way of detoxing from the goodies of Christmas because all I have wanted recently is veggies, fruit, and peanut butter (random, I know). My eyes proved to be more hungry than my stomach because I only ate about half of this.

Such a shame too because it’s a pretty salad. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Off to bed. My eyes and brain hurt!

Night everyone! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2010 7:11 am

    Oh dear that looks like such a headache. I have not used that web hosting thing- can you find out abotu any problems by googling it? Or are there FAQ’s or customer services you can ring?
    Hope you sort it anyway

  2. December 28, 2010 8:48 am

    I’m sorry you’ve been having trouble with your host! I would definitely figure out what the heck is going on (I’m sure you’re trying).

    Sam is funny!

  3. December 28, 2010 9:17 am

    Ah noooo! Sorry to hear that it’s being difficult! I’m thinking about making the switch too but I’m so technically challenged that I’ve been scared to. Once you figure it out, let us know some of the major challenges! Good luck getting it together!

  4. December 28, 2010 1:56 pm

    Don’t worry, you’ll figure it out! Take this from someone who does the 10-hour in front of the computer thing professionally, these things are evil but they always work out in the end. Oh! And punching the keyboard will not help, you’ll just need a new one…

Leave a Reply

